HELP! Viofo A118C Won't Update!

Pacemaker1000

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
22
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
Followed instructions, put .bin file in root directory, reconnect to PC and screen just shows 'mass storage' as it normally does and nothing happens
Also tried connecting direct to power source on reformatting and placing a few online versions into root directory and cam just goes into normal record mode

version showing as on Cam:
A118C2_20161008_V1.0

Help
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,870
Reaction score
1,409
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Hi,
Followed instructions, put .bin file in root directory, reconnect to PC and screen just shows 'mass storage' as it normally does and nothing happens
Also tried connecting direct to power source on reformatting and placing a few online versions into root directory and cam just goes into normal record mode

version showing as on Cam:
A118C2_20161008_V1.0

Help
Don't plug into your computers USB. You will just continue to enter Mass Storage Mode. Use a USB wall charger, or your car adapter to perform the actual update.
 
OP
P

Pacemaker1000

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
22
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Don't plug into your computers USB. You will just continue to enter Mass Storage Mode. Use a USB wall charger, or your car adapter to perform the actual update.
Hi thanks for the prompt reply
Unfortunately tried this and just goes into record mode

Do I need a loader file like the 119s?
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,870
Reaction score
1,409
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Do you have the A118C or A118C2?
 

DashcamDPR

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
1,138
Reaction score
578
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
A119 Pro, Mio Mivue 508 for the work van
re-do it from scratch. blank the memory card on the computer, put the .bin file on it, then put the card in the cam and put the cam straight in the car (as you would, ready for recording). It should then update
 
OP
P

Pacemaker1000

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
22
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
thanks guys but no joy
its a C2
blanked using SD formatter and loaded with just latest file from Vioso. Put back in Cam and plugged it straight in but it just goes into normal recoding mode.
its not seeing the update file or ignoring it i would say
ive had experience with before and am sure im doing it right

unless it came with the latest update and is just ignoring it?
plus its supposed to delete the file which it doesnt
 

DT MI

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
5,258
Reaction score
4,100
Location
Michigan
Country
United States
Dash Cam
More than my wife thinks I need.
...
its not seeing the update file or ignoring it i would say...
Try changing the .bin file name from lower case to upper case - or vice versa. Try with the the name and/or extension. I suggest this as there have been other instances of F/W updates not working because the camera is looking for an exact match on the file name.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,870
Reaction score
1,409
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
I think you already have the latest firmware on the camera. The version you posted is the latest (only) for the A118C2.
 
OP
P

Pacemaker1000

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
22
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks guys
didnt know there was a difference with the C2. Viofo dont show any firmware specific for the C2 only the C.
maybe because they are the same or like said i have the latest for the C2. maybe they are not compatible hence it wont update?
emailed Viofo for info
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,870
Reaction score
1,409
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Thanks guys
didnt know there was a difference with the C2. Viofo dont show any firmware specific for the C2 only the C.
maybe because they are the same or like said i have the latest for the C2. maybe they are not compatible hence it wont update?
emailed Viofo for info
Since Viofo has not had any updates for the A118C2, that's probably why they don't list it on their site.
 

klliker

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Country
Serbia
I have a completely identical problem with me. My camera is Blueskysea with an incoming firmware B40S.655.20170406.001 which i can not find. The seller sent me the original firmware 20150107 with which i try the update but my camera constantly enters the mode "Mass Storage" and PC Camera ".
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,870
Reaction score
1,409
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
I have a completely identical problem with me. My camera is Blueskysea with an incoming firmware B40S.655.20170406.001 which i can not find. The seller sent me the original firmware 20150107 with which i try the update but my camera constantly enters the mode "Mass Storage" and PC Camera ".
You will get Mass Storage mode when you power the cam via your computer. Use a USB wall charger for the update.
 

klliker

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Country
Serbia
Thank you
I tried with him as well as with a car connection but again it happens. I believe the camera is a copy of the problem.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,870
Reaction score
1,409
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Thank you
I tried with him as well as with a car connection but again it happens. I believe the camera is a copy of the problem.
Try another USB cable. Shouldn’t enter Mass Storage mode with a power cable and USB wall charger. Use the long USB power cable and not the short data USB cable.
 

klliker

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Country
Serbia
Tried with 1.2m cable and the same thing. The laptop enters Mass Storage and starts recording on the wall charger.
 

klliker

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Country
Serbia
Unfortunately its incoming firmware B40S.655.20170406.001 i can not find it nigde find the seller offered me an older version but the camera is not visible and will not be upgraded
 

Similar threads


Top