looking for a camera that meets these specs...

hrench

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm no expert in dash cams, but I'm trying to specify one for an order where a customer will be buying many vehicles. They specify the criteria of the camera fairly carefully. Not sure if this camera actually exists; I think some of the criteria corrects itself.

but if someone can help me, that'll be great. Thanks in advance.

1. external Sirf III GPS input.
2. 120 degrees of view min.
3. records on a 32GB SD or micro SD card, stores 'up to 48 hours'. This one is really tough.
4. 24 vdc
5. real time stamp on video.
6. min resolution 720 x 480
7. clear in day and night, in bad weather.
8. min 2-M-pixel
9. built in shock sensor x/y/z
10. windows media player playback.
11. vibration and sunlight no problem.
12. tamper-proof galvanized wire security seal on the SD card. Does this exist or do I need to design it?

Again, thanks for any help people can supply. If this works out, I'll need to buy 700 of these.

I want a car to do everything for me but there is none that meets all my needs.

Just get one from decent brand and then keep researching or wait forever until one comes up with all the requirements.

- As I understood, this goes into truck or bus if you require 24V, right ?
- Your min. resolution is quite low requrement. Maybe you want at least 720p not VGA ?
- 48h recording, - its all depends on what resolution you will be recording, but 32Gb will not be enough for sure. For example recording at 1080p you can get around 4.5h on 32Gb memory card.
- What is your budget ?

My budget is what it costs. I need to supply the customer with what they've asked for, but I don't want to waste money.

The bit about 2 megapixel and then "up to 48 hours" just seems silly, but yes, my customer's engineers have come up with the requirement so I have to either meet it or tell them why it doesn't make sense.