Mini 0801 with and without GPS

Rob Wild

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I'm a newbie, I've just received a mini 0801 from E-prance. The eBay listing was for one with the GPS logger, but they sent a cam without it. I thought that they could just send the GPS bracket and disc, and that would resolve the problem. However, in their broken English they are now saying that I need to return it as the mini 0801 without GPS won't work with the GPS bracket. Does anyone know if this is true or is it hogwash? Merry Xmas!

hard to say without knowing what you bought but there are sellers that list the GPS bracket as an accessory and there are versions that certainly work with or without, firmware may vary though, if they've sent you the incorrect one they're the ones that should be sorting it out

The bracket for the with or without gps is almost same, the main difference is there is gps unit in the bracket of the gps version, and firmware is also different.

Read the ebay listing description again and check their return policy. If they are at fault, they should at least handle the return shipping costs.

My daughter bough me a none GPS Mini 801 foe Christmas, she bought it from Amazon, after placing the order she got an e-mail from Amazon stating that if she bought the GPS mount the camera would be essentiall upgraded to the GPS version.

As my birthday was 10th Jan my son said he would get me the GPS Mount, as described on Amazon.

Well evem though I have upgraded the Firmware to the lates version for none internal card with GPS, I do not have the GPS symbol on the display???

So I guess that there is actually a difference in the circuitry within the camera, maybe from the pins within the mounting area as it obviously only needs the 2 pins for power.

Anyone have any ideas???

Do you have this setting:
no13i0yscgwtr.jpg

set to this:
no2h695sqbwrj.jpg

Yes but no GPS symbol on display (ignore black lines they are on the screen protector)