Mobius Maxi Support Thread

OP
TonyM

TonyM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
4,068
Reaction score
3,780
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Mobius, SG, Viofo
Due to working from home I've not driven a car for at least 8 weeks. I do however take an occasional bike ride with my kids, so I've been experimenting with cameras on my bike.

My pannier rack provides a stable and versatile platform for installing cameras, and the small storage bag contains a multi-port USB powerbank for powering multiple cameras (I only have one connected at present - the others run off their internal batteries)
1589667199752.png

My current setup has rear- and side-facing Maxi cameras. The cradles are fixed directly to the metal pannier frame with dual-lock tape.
1589667360589.png

1589667489449.png

The front-facing camera is a GitUp F1 in 1080p mode with image stabilisation ON. It is fixed to a light mounted on my handlebars and suffers from more vibration than the Maxi's which are fixed directly to the bike framework. I like having the side-facing camera since it looks sideways at junctions, and can see cars as they pass me. All cameras are recording at 1080p60.

 
OP
TonyM

TonyM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
4,068
Reaction score
3,780
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Mobius, SG, Viofo
Here's a couple of short clips from my rear and side-facing Maxi bike cameras, showing the view with passing cars. I'm cycling slowly since I'm following my two young boys on their bikes.


 
OP
TonyM

TonyM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
4,068
Reaction score
3,780
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Mobius, SG, Viofo
I've modified my bike camera setup, partly because I've started driving again so one camera is going back into the car.

The rear-facing Maxi now has a weather sleeve to offer some protection from rain and dust. There is a hole on the underside that is just the right width for a strip of 3M dual-lock tape, so I can fix the camera directly to my bike frame. There is not enough space inside the case for the Maxi mounting cradle.

1591566444792.png
1591566567895.png

There are no cut-outs on the rear of the case for the mini-USB port or the microSD card slot, so I'm running the camera on battery power. It is easy to lift up the back of the case to access the port and slot as required when indoors.
1591568002236.png

The sleeve does affect the recorded audio, mostly reducing the volume of high-pitched sounds such as those from the bike moving parts, and also me talking. It can still pick up the sound of passing cars. Obviously the heatsink is covered - I have not yet recorded for long enough in warm conditions to know if this is an issue for an external-mounted camera.

The circle indicator light is visible through a transparent ring in the case, although it is not as bright as looking at the camera directly. The rear red indicator light is not visible, so I keep the ring indicator on to show when it is recording. The buttons are fairly easy to press through the case.
 
Last edited:

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,668
Reaction score
814
Country
Netherlands
Bought me some guineepigs to silence the wind.... still need to test, can't ride just yet, cause 4 weeks ago I fell from the truck's trailer, some guy lowered the loader without telling me, jack@ss... right leg completely brused and hematoma'd.... still can't comfortably walk.... one week later I had an operation for removal of infected galblatter, 2 days later again, to get all the infections out...... so, that cleares up my abscence the last 4-5 weeks....

20200625_182404.jpg
20200625_182529.jpg
20200625_182814.jpg
 

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,668
Reaction score
814
Country
Netherlands
I think the guinea pigs are a success, but they still need a haircut..... :ROFLMAO:

(PS it is recorded with the F1 Gitup, the Maxi comes here-after, but in general the sound isn't as good from the Maxi....)

 

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,668
Reaction score
814
Country
Netherlands
Yeah, I'm a happy Dicky...... Hahaha... and finaly after 4 week on the horses again.... All 120 of them.... (y)
 

dashcambro

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
4
Country
United Kingdom
I’m having a problem I faced long ago with my maxi.

i have a honda civic and it has a ignition then push to start button. My maxi is hardwired to a ignition fuse and has a supercap. I note that sometimes I will turn to ignition, wait a bit before starting the engine by pressing the button. Thus the cMera won’t record.

the settings I have is

power off standby: off

autorecord external power: on

power off disconnect: 10 secs (putting to immediate makes it never record anything).

can someone recommend the correct dashcam maxi settings?
 
OP
TonyM

TonyM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
4,068
Reaction score
3,780
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Mobius, SG, Viofo
power off disconnect: 10 secs
10 seconds is probably too long for the capacitor

I use 2 seconds to overcome any short interruption in the power supply
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
6,914
Reaction score
6,167
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, K2S, B2W, (ex N2Pro & Mobius)
IIRC (which I may not be doing) someone has mentioned that caps give roughly 4 seconds of usable power to a cam, which is about twice what they generally need to shut down correctly. If you're having last-file-corruption issues it could be your card has slowed down or is about to die. Try the shorter settings first, then if no improvement try them with a different known good card.

Phil
 

dashcambro

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
4
Country
United Kingdom
10 seconds is probably too long for the capacitor

I use 2 seconds to overcome any short interruption in the power supply
So I tried a different card (32GB vs the small one I had before). Records perfectly at 3 min clips, not missing any footage yet. This is with 10s power of disconnect. As I understand this means the camera turns of 10 seconds after loss of power,but obviously with the super cap it turns off before then.

Anyway I hesitate to mess with the settings now as it's such a ball ache to get right.
 
Top