My only confusing setting: Frequency - 50Hz or 60Hz?

r_s

Reaction score
Country
United States
Should I assume that those living in North America should set it to 60Hz and those who live pretty much anywhere else should set it to 50Hz?

For those wondering why does it matter where you live, North America's electrical systems operate at 60Hz and televisions operate at a 60Hz (or multiples thereof) refresh rate. That's why NTSC delivers a frame rate of 30 fps (odd lines and even lines drawn each at 30 fps interlaced = 60Hz) . European TVs are at a 50Hz refresh rate. And that's why PAL delivers a frame rate of 25 fps.

But car cigarette lighters are DC. So does setting 50Hz vs 60Hz matter? If I'm using 1080/60fps, should I use 60Hz?

BTW, i'm not an electrical expert, but I think what I said is mostly true.

Most of us are recording at either 30fps or 60fps anyway, modern TVs, monitors, computers do not need to operate at the same frequency as the power supply.
Most light sources also don't operate at mains frequency any more, it is only a few older fluorescent lamps that cause a significant issue, and incandescent lamps cause a minor issue, although incandescent lamps are more or less illegal in Europe now due to their inefficency so they don't actually cause any problem!

it is only a few older fluorescent lamps that cause a significant issue, and incandescent lamps cause a minor issue, although incandescent lamps are more or less illegal in Europe now due to their inefficency so they don't actually cause any problem!

We are trying to get rid of diesels now because they are dirty and cause cancer!

Maybe the flicker problem will disappear in a few years, since the EU are talking about replacing our "230"V AC power by 380V DC because it is more efficient (higher average voltage = lower current thus less heating etc).

Brexit.

We are trying to get rid of diesels now because they are dirty and cause cancer!