Need dash cam that displays and records speed

Chergib

Reaction score
Country
Canada
I work in the oilfield where Going 1 kilometer over the posted 80 km speed limit can get you a warning and after 2 warnings kicked off site. I need a dash cam that records and displays speed and can be rewound onsite to have proof of speed. Any suggestions it also needs to be portable as I don't drive the same vehicle every day

suggest you drive slower ;)

you can get cameras that do this but the speed shown in video is not real time, nor is it deadly accurate, the speedometer in the trucks are not likely to be accurate either

To be interested what reason to limit the speed within 80km, Is the road is very rough?

To be interested what reason to limit the speed within 80km, Is the road is very rough?
We are on a air weapons base and thus the speed limit although most off road oilsites set lower speeds to avoid accident and wildlife encounters. Very strick

suggest you drive slower ;)

you can get cameras that do this but the speed shown in video is not real time, nor is it deadly accurate, the speedometer in the trucks are not likely to be accurate either
Yes driving slower is the point isn't it$. The buses I drive can be anywhere for 5-8 km off thus looking for other options then relying on my by-guess or by-golly and inaccurate speedo

You're better off using a Smart Phone app for this need.
I have started using one but unfortunately if it ever came down to them or me clocking the bus., I would lose and probably my job.

I drive on air weapons range thus the speed but really most oilfield sites enforce a lower speed limit to avoid accident and wildlife encounters

Yes driving slower is the point isn't it$. The buses I drive can be anywhere for 5-8 km off thus looking for other options then relying on my by-guess or by-golly and inaccurate speedo

yes the speedos are off, but the recorded speed might not be so accurate either, so which one do you rely on?