Reviewing footage on pc

Dalevw

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello to all. I'm new here and my name is Dale. I've been using a dash cam for a couple of years now and being honest it has save my bacon and helped me claim from a third party. I bought a viofo cam for my partner a year or so ago.
Yesterday a van/pickup hit her car and ripped off the drivers mirror. It was just after 7 in the morning so it was not daylight. On viewing the footage the number plates are totally white. This probably is reflection from her LED headlights.
I have view it through VLC player

I would like to view it frame by frame.... is that possible to do

Thanks in advance for any replies

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Welcome @Dalevw
You can step video frame by frame in VLC. You need to enable that menu option.
1634733227301.png

Goto Tools / Customise interface - then have a play with the menu structure you want. Make sure you add the Icon shown in the image.
Sometimes inverting the image eg a negative may show things you don't see in normal view.
Good luck getting the Number plate.

Thanks for the super fast reply. I'm off to work soon so I'll have a look at it tomorrow. I'll let you know how I get on

Thanks for the super fast reply. I'm off to work soon so I'll have a look at it tomorrow. I'll let you know how I get on

Look forward to how you go.
Cheers.

Also, to add to LateralNW's suggestion, in many media players you can step forwards and backwards frame by frame by using the left and right arrow keys on your keyboard. In some media players if you hold down the arrow keys you can scrub through video frames in slow motion.

Another thing you can do is to go into the "video effects" menu in VLC (and certain other media players) and try adjusting the brightness, contrast and gamma settings. Often, this will reveal hidden details not normally seen in your videos.

adjustments.jpg

Last time I tried to be clever in VLC I stuffed it and had to do a complete reset :oops: