USB power bank as second battery for dash cam

zaq88999

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
A129 Pro
I just received my new Viofo A129 pro duo a few days before, but I been to stay at home for the whole time, so I'm wondering to make something.
First of all, I'm new to the circuit and English, so if you find any problems, let me know, please!

So I did some research from the forum, and end it up this.

Things I use:
12v-5v hardwire kit (control relay board)
5V relay board from Amazon CA
Toggle Switch
Few USB cables
Philips Power Bank (5V1A& 5V2.1A output) 5V1.5A input( It will not output power while it's charging)
IMG_4011.jpg
IMG_4025.jpg

Once the car is on, the car will power the PB and dashcam. When the car is off, I can use the toggle switch to turn on the relay, so the power bank can output power.

Before this, I was following this wiring diagram from the forum, but it's not working for me. The dashcam won't work properly, don't know why. And I find out the charging cable to PB has to separate.
assembly_5-lo.jpg

Now, I already tested for a few hours, no problem yet.

During this time, I also put some reflective vinyl in my car.

Inkedlower_LI.jpg
What do you think?
So as I said, I'm new, so if you find any problem, please told me. I will keep posing update.

Stay Safe

Attachments

• 15819829907854491.jpg
    15819829907854491.jpg
    290.4 KB · Views: 19
Need to think and calculate few things:
1. How much (long, often ) you drive a car?
2. Will it be enough to charge powerbank to the capacity used in parking mode.

Lifepo4 power banks would be preferable if you want to charge PB to the max within relatively short time.

What is the side reflective sticker supposed to be?

In this country it would be illegal, should be red at the back, white is for the front!

Need to think and calculate few things:
1. How much (long, often ) you drive a car?
2. Will it be enough to charge powerbank to the capacity used in parking mode.