VanTrue E1 "Amateur" Review :)

IAmATeaf

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Viofo A119 v3
Please find here my review of the Vantrue E1 dashcam which was kindly sent over to me by Vantrue.

Let me start by saying I’m not a professional reviewer, in fact this will be my first so will welcome comments and maybe even some mild criticism :)

In terms of dashcam history, I’ve had a few cheapo Amazon specials before finally deciding to get something ‘half decent’ a while back, so I’ll be comparing the E1 to my existing Viofo A119 V3.

In terms of the type of user I am, I fall into the set it up and then forget all about it. With the A119 V3 the only things I changed from default was to enable GPS and I increased the recording bitrate to maximum, thinking here is why not! I don’t tend to update the firmware unless there is a real need to do so, my A119 V3 is still running the v1.03 firmware it came with.

Onto the review.

What do you get in the box?

The E1 comes in what I would regard as a ‘premium’ feeling box. The main camera unit and remote control unit are held securely in a foam insert with the rest of the accessories in a small box. Both the camera and the remote control do feel like quality items, the cameras form factor is approximately a 4.5cm cube which attaches to the mount with a magnetic with a reassuring clunk.

In terms of accessories, you get the following:
  • Windscreen magnetic mount
  • 5m power cable with right angle USB-C connector
  • USB A to USB-C data/power cable
  • Spudger
  • 2 electrostatic pads
  • Spare set of sticky mounting pads 1 of each for the dashcam and the remote control
  • 2 Vantrue security stickers