Which dashcam

wood

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am a total newbie to dashcams.

I am looking for my first dashcam after I had my first accident in 23 years of driving. I was hit side on, driver-side door after a car failed to turn into a junction.

Learned my lesson that the insurance company will now only accept Dashcam evidence, even the other driver fully admitting fault on audio I recorded on my phone was not accepted.

I have two cars a VW Golf (2019) and an Audi A4 (2016), I would like one main dashcam I could swap between cars. I would also prefer to hardwire, so it's neat and tidy and no messy power cables. I assume I would need to buy 2 x rear cameras and wire them in, but for the main front camera, I could move between cars.

I am looking for a front and rear camera, ideally, that would have covered me for a side impact. Would prefer 4k, and the option for parking capture when I am with car away from home.

I was looking at the Nextbase 622GW but was not sure how easy to switch between cars and also what the angle of view was.

Do you have recommendations? I am based in South East London / North Kent - so if there is a good shop i could go to then perfect.

Many thanks

Welcome to the club.
Shop specifications first.
Minimum Requirements 2023;
1.) STARVIS 2 Image Sensor
2.) HDR
STARVIS 2 without HDR is “almost” useless at night (Thinkware U3000).

I’ve seen posts on this forum from users requesting recommendations for side dash cams (left & right).
Because they were involved in an incident as you describe, and their front & rear dash cam failed to capture the impact from the side.
You may want to consider covering four POV’s, (front, rear, left, right).
Or at least three POV’s, (front, rear, rear interior looking forward).
The rear interior looking forward will provide coverage out left & right side windows.

Here is an example of all five POV’s in action;

Here are screenshots of the five POV’s;

Front .png
Rear .png
Rear Interior .png