Xiaomi Yi 360 VR 6 Camera Rig Android app (Brahma Alpha)

OP
JRSim_UIX

JRSim_UIX

Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
16
Country
United Kingdom
Nice! Good job.
Definitely recommend Autopano 2.3 found it to be so much better.
 

hiep

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
Here's another test. Getting a bit better at stitching. I would definitely like to move up to Autopano Video Pro 2.3 as soon as I get a project that pays for the full purchase. Still stitching on 1.7
I do find the buttons still lagging quite a bit. Still not sure if that is a 'my device' thing or an app thing. Shooting in 960p (4:3). This setup works so I'm not messing with it. There was a weird glitch with one of the cameras as it appeared to switch off and on again about 2/3 the way through a 30min take. Will try more long takes to see what the issue is. App has been a godsend and it has got me finally using this setup. It's been sitting around for almost a year waiting for something like this to get me going on it. Thanks again and I look forward to the final paid version.

 

recurza

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
Canada
My cameras won't connect when start_wifi_when_booted is enabled. They connect fine otherwise, but can't record videos. They also disconnect when I press the wifi button. I've assigned a static IP for all of them.

Any ideas?

(EDIT: Just found another thread, seems like the dev is also having this problem. Strange though, I didn't put any custom firmware on mine. https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/developer-firmware-help-anyone.19540/#post-255031)
 
Last edited:

krasnyyyy

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Country
Poland
My cameras won't connect when start_wifi_when_booted is enabled. They connect fine otherwise, but can't record videos. They also disconnect when I press the wifi button. I've assigned a static IP for all of them.

I have the same problem.
Change the video image does not work, I have to manually adjust the camera.
 

hiep

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
Another test with the brahma 360. Still trying to perfect stitching but still one noticeable error I can't fix. Anyway....
App is still functioning great and looking forward to the next update.
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/vNM8EmZP8J8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
 

hiep

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
@krasnyyyy I set the camera to start wifi when boot from the yi app. I'm using the stock directions from Brahma 360. I had lots of trouble initially so I went and reinstalled the stock firmware all over again and it seemed to work. I couldn't figure out how to set the IP addresses for a long time. I have them set manually but you only have to do it once as the app remembers them. Let me know if you need some more help
 

krasnyyyy

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Country
Poland
@hiep:
Could you send me Your camera settings (autoexec, etc.)? You set bitrate of 35Mbps?
 

hiep

New Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
I'm still using 960P setting for now.
 

Al Caudullo

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
I am testing my captures using MediaInfo. I am only capturing at 15 Mbps not 50Mbps. I am using the script from Steve but I don't know why I am not getting higher bitrate. Can someone help?
 

kilroyone

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
Russian Federation
Hello everyone,
I got new Yi cameras with stock fw 1.3.0 25L.
I'm trying do downgrade to 1.2.13, cameras connected to my WiFi spot on smartphone, also in app I connected them, but no any actions doesnt work, record video/get photos, it shows it working and I have beep, but on sd card no any videos and photos.
Any help?
 
Last edited:
OP
JRSim_UIX

JRSim_UIX

Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
16
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone,
I got new Yi cameras with stock fw 1.3.0 25L.
I'm trying do downgrade to 1.2.13, cameras connected to my WiFi spot on smartphone, also in app I connected them, but no any actions doesnt work, record video/get photos, it shows it working and I have beep, but on sd card no any videos and photos.
Any help?

I haven't tried with 1.3.0 - I'm guessing this is a new FW release?
http://www.xiaoyi.com/update/sports - I don't see any updates on the official site to download this FW release to test it out and update the app to support :(
 
OP
JRSim_UIX

JRSim_UIX

Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
16
Country
United Kingdom
I am testing my captures using MediaInfo. I am only capturing at 15 Mbps not 50Mbps. I am using the script from Steve but I don't know why I am not getting higher bitrate. Can someone help?


Bitrates can be found here.
https://github.com/PJanisio/Xiaomi_Yi_autoexec/tree/master/bitrate

Alternatively use this -
https://github.com/stgvr/ponerinex/blob/master/xrelease/xuetan ae(fw1.2.13) preview 0.0.9.zip

It will auto adjust to correct bitrates etc.
I would never recomend 50.. .. 35 would be the max I would suggest to set it at.
 

dbo

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Country
Spain
Hola a todos,
He estado unos días intentando conectar 3 xiaomi yi action cam utlizando las indicaciones y aplicaciones que aparecen en este foro. Tras muchas pruebas y después de buscar por todo el foro las razones de porqué no lo conseguía, al final las pude conectar y disparar simultaneamente desde mi movil.

Para que el próximo que lo intente no se vuelva loco voy a descrbir con detalle como lo he hecho y cuales son las configuraciones que he empleado (también para poder acordarme dntro de un tiempo).

Ya que el foro está en inglés, haré la explicación en español y para torpes como yo ;-)

A continuación indico con que lo he hecho y como lo tengo configurado.
Atención!: los detalles que considero importantes los pondré en negrita.

1.- Cámaras:
Xiaomi yi action cam
versión: 23A (solo es importante para buscar la actualización del firmware)(la versión de la cámara se ve en las primeras cifras del nº de serie, debajo de la batería, donde pone por ejemplo "SN Z23A604S4... " la versión son las 3 cifras después de la Z)
versión del firmware: 1.2.13 (es la última)(la versión del firmware que teneis instalado se ve al conectar la cámara a la app de xiaomi, en "configuración")(las instrucciones para descargar este firmware e instalarlo están en la página: http://www.xiaoyi.com/update/sports . Cuidado: el archivo que teneis que instalar depende de cual es la versión de vuestra cámara)

Importante: hay que configurar la cámara de forma que se arranque sin activar la wifi y activando el modo video.

Si se arranca con la wifi activada no se conectará a la app del teléfono.

2.- Teléfono:

Uso un Samsung galaxy S3 con android 6.0.1 (Cuidado: la app para conectar varias cámaras solo funciona con android a partir de la versión 5)

3.- Para usar la aplicación debe activarse la función del teléfono: "Compartir internet y zona wifi", con lo que convertimos el teléfono en un punto de acceso.

4.- Para la configuración posterior es necesario saber el nombre de la red (la SSID) creada por el teléfono para compartir la zona wifi, la contraseña de acceso a esta red y la dirección I.P. (los dos primeros datos los encontrais en la opción "Configurar zona wifi" del teléfono y la I.P. la podeis encontar conectando, por ejemplo, un portatil a la zona wifi creada por el teléfono y buscando las propiedades de la red en el ordenador. Es la lista de números que pone después de Dirección IPv4, que serán algo así como 192.168.42.237, las cifras que teneis que anotar son las 3 primeras: 192.168.42 para usarlas después)

5.- Ahora hay que cargar en la tarjeta MicroSD de todas las cámaras unos archivos que los descargáis de: https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/camera-wifi-in-client-mode-working-ash-script-inside.12239/ .

6.- En el punto nº1 de la página del enlace anterior pulsais en Download y descargais un archivo llamado "wifi_sta.zip" y lo descomprimís en la tarjeta MicroSD de forma que lo que veis en el explorador de windows son las carpetas y archivos siguientes:

DCIM
MISC
wifi
autoexec

7.- Una vez aquí abrís la carpeta que pone wifi y os encontrais con los siguientes archivos:

sta
watchdog
wpa_supplicant

8.- Ahora teneis que modificar los archivos sta y wpa_supplicant, para ello teneis que abrirlo con la aplicación Notepad++ que os separa el texto (son programas) en líneas y las numera (NO useis el Notepad de windows) .

9.- Abrís primero el archivo "sta" con Notepad++, bajáis a la línea número 51 y quitáis el símbolo # de delante de la línea, despues cambiais la dirección IP que indica por una que empiece con las 3 cifras que he mencionado antes en el ejemplo (192.168.42) (vosotros tenéis que poner las cifras que habeis copiado de vuestro ordenador), la cuarta cifra será una entre 0 y 255 diferente a la que aparecía en el ordenador (en el ejemplo era 237), de forma que la IP quede por ejemplo como: 192.168.42.1

11.- Después poneis el símbolo # delante de la línea 52 (la línea quedará así: #udhcpc -i wlan0 -A 2 -b -t 30)

12.- Guardais los cambios y haceis lo mismo con todas las cámaras, ponieno la cuarta cifra de la IP diferente para cada una (192.168.42.2, 192.168.42.3, etc. por ejemplo)

13.- Ahora abrís de la misma forma el archivo "wpa_supplicant" y cambiais dos cosas:

En la línea donde pone ssid="..." poneis entre las comillas el nombre de la red que habeis visto en el párrafo 4. No olvideis dejar las comillas.

En la línea que pone psk=".." poneis la contraseña de acceso a la red también del párrafo 4. También entre comillas.

Guardais los cambios y ya podeis meter la tarjeta en la cámara.

La modificación del archivo "wpa_supplicant" es igual para todas las cámaras, no hay que cambiar nada de una a otra.

14.- Ahora instalais en el móvil la app "XIAOMI 360" (es la aplicación con la que podéis disparar todas las cámaras a la vez), en la pestaña "Connection Settings" vais metiendo las IP que habeis puesto en las cámaras (192.168.42.2, 192.168.42.3, etc. por ejemplo) y ya se debería conectar.

Recordad que las cámaras deben arrancarse en modo video y con la wifi apagada

Si usais un número diferente de cámaras de los que figura en la app (1, 2, 6 y 7) una vez conectada la aplicación a vuestras cámaras seguirá intentando comectarse al resto de cámaras, para evitarlo movéis el botón para poner el modo video o foto de la app y ya os dejará funcionar.

A veces después de sacar varias fotos me sale un mensaje de error, cuando encuentre la solución os lo comentaré.

Espero que os haya servido este rollo.

Saludos,
db
 

recurza

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
Canada
@JRSim_UIX Any plans on making this open source like Ponerine? I have lots of spare time rn and would love to help develop it
 
Last edited:
OP
JRSim_UIX

JRSim_UIX

Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
16
Country
United Kingdom
My coding is pretty terrible for this project as it was a lot of trial and error and figuring out what would and wouldn't work.
Otherwise I would open source it. - it's just cordova, html, css and JS.

If you download the apk and unzip it you should be able to see and access the code ;)
I dont think I obfuscated/compressed the latest release


I'm focusing my efforts more around the git2 cameras these days
 

mrvr

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
On the 'Camera Connections' menu cameras 1-6 have default values of 192.168.0.120-125 for the 6 cameras, I press auto scan and it says 'no cameras found' with default IPs or sta'sh file set to dynamically. Just trying to outline all the things I'm doing to see if you can see what I'm doing wrong. thanks for any help

I am having the same issue. I am running Firmware 1.2.13. I have confirmed proper settings in the cameras with CC.exe. I am using an S6 as my mobile hotspot device, and see no ips from the cameras. Auto scan on Xiaomi 360 app shows 'no cameras found'. I have attempted to connect both via a fixed ip, and dynamically by modifying command lines in sta'sh. I adjusted wpa_supplicant.conf to connect to my home wifi to see if I could find the ip addresses of the cameras through my router interface, but no luck. I have also tried alternate telnet methods of connecting through PonerineS and PonerineM on my home wifi router with no success. I have read over this thread thoroughly, but can't find a solution posted anywhere. Hiep says elsewhere in the thread that it took him a long time but was eventually able to ascertain the correct ip addresses. If anyone can help me I would really appreciate it.
 

mrvr

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
Fixed it. Had to enable watchdog, and change access point ip address in watchdog file to 192.168.43.1 (default android access point ip address). Thanks for the great software!

I am having the same issue. I am running Firmware 1.2.13. I have confirmed proper settings in the cameras with CC.exe. I am using an S6 as my mobile hotspot device, and see no ips from the cameras. Auto scan on Xiaomi 360 app shows 'no cameras found'. I have attempted to connect both via a fixed ip, and dynamically by modifying command lines in sta'sh. I adjusted wpa_supplicant.conf to connect to my home wifi to see if I could find the ip addresses of the cameras through my router interface, but no luck. I have also tried alternate telnet methods of connecting through PonerineS and PonerineM on my home wifi router with no success. I have read over this thread thoroughly, but can't find a solution posted anywhere. Hiep says elsewhere in the thread that it took him a long time but was eventually able to ascertain the correct ip addresses. If anyone can help me I would really appreciate it.
 
Top