1st DashCam - Need guidance

phatb

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello,

I've been a lurker here for awhile and I've read other threads by 1st time dashcam purchasers and the what to buy sticky but I'm still a bit undecided as to what I want to purchase.

Since this is my first time, it all seems intimidating, no only because it's my first dashcam but I have concerns on how to wire/hardwire a dashcam, hoping it doesn't interfere with current navigation system, etc. So if I can also get feedback from other users on this and how they use their dashcams day to day (do some of you unplug or remove dashcam then plug/place dashcam back after parking/before driving, etc)

*I current have a 2009 RX350.
*My budget is up to $150 - I've seen that the Street Guardian cam has great quality and support but it's a bit over budget at $200 (does anyone know if there are coupons or deals on this?)
*Looking for a good quality day cam and night cam
*Hopefully the dashcam would be able to read license plates (but I've read video can be enhanced in VLC and in other editing tools)
*I'd like something to still be able to record when involved in an accident *knock on wood*
*I'd like something reliable - I've seen people have issues with cams like the mini806 and it scares me despite reviews stating if you get a well-made one, it has great quality
*I am not concerned if the dashcam is discreet
*If possible, maybe have rearcam/dual channel but not a priority
**Also if possible, have wifi capabilities

I've browsed Amazon and there are some affordable cams there with great reviews but aren't mentioned often here in these forums and wanted to know what your thought is on this - are these cams good? do you think these reviews were bought or do these purchasers not know any better for not checking forums like these?

Thanks for the assistance and I'm glad I found this forum.