Brand new - What should i get? :-)

DJ_Eatch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, total newbie to dashcams and the site (but have been reading it for months)...

Yes, you probably get a million of these, but I'm incredibly fussy! (from a technical background)
I'm looking for a discreet dash cam that has the best video quality both night and day. (I've heard only good things about the sony Exmor sensor)
Speed camera warnings would be nice, but not if there's a monthly/annual cost. I will aim to hardwire (with adhesive not suction), but not necessarily on day 1
I had a short list but it keeps getting smashed to bits when i read conflicting reviews.
I also keep swinging between "It's a safety device, so price isn't an issue but needs to be reliable" and "Basic and cheap will do the job"......

Here's my latest short list:
Garmin Dash Cam 35 (charge for speed cameras)
SG9665GC (just too expensive in the UK)
Mini 0806 (reliability issues)
Thinkware F750 (no confirmation of all features work as advertised)
Mobuis V3 C2 Lens (No GPS info - could be overlooked if cheap enough)

My brain feels like it's going to melt if i keep going round in circles!! I feel like I've read every review around - but still no clear winner - picture quality is king, closely followed by reliability.
And as the Irish wife says "Buy right, buy once" :)
Please help.
Thanks in advance.
Duncan.

Welcome!
From your list, Garmin and Mini out.

Mobius has good video quality.

SG9665GC also has good video and great support.
I read @Pier28 had some coupons for DCT members so that may drop price somewhat.

Other than those, check some based on Ambarella chip.

Welcome to DCT. Mobius is a good choice. Also consider the BlackSys CF-100 ...

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/B00KFYG0K0
Review...

https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threa...p-sony-exmor-cmos-720p-gps-24-7-parking.7441/