GitUp Git2- Support, FAQ, Review

Gibson99

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
8,962
Reaction score
7,370
Location
Houston, we've had a problem, Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
(2x) A119, (2x) A118c, iTrue X3, Git1, Git2
something i saw in another thread - can you see the camera in the bike's mirrors? maybe you can see its LEDs to confirm if it's working that way.
 

leedude03

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
due to the way i have the cam positioned on the helmet i can not see it through the mirrors , if i i lean forward to look the top of the visor appature obscures the view to the cam if you see what i mean. but thanks for the suggestion, another point on a different matter is the abillity to record in stereo using one of the mini usb to 3.5mm jack sockets i have seen mentioned on this forum, i can say that the one i purchased does not work in stereo, but just works one channel mono, this is the one. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/391418598579. so dont buy this one expecting it to work in stereo, i have now ordered a gopro one to see if that works, this is the one. https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/B00A3MY7L8 i will get back with the results when it arrives.
 

leedude03

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
I can now confirm that the gopro cable from amazon records in stereo, my setup is, autocom on bike with pillion to rider mic's and headsets all connected via the autocom to a zumo 660 satnav for directions and listening to music, i have now incorperated the gitup git 2 so it records video and everything you hear from the satnav and also all you hear from rider to pillion and pillion to rider, and now i am happy, all i need to do now is find out what was causing the white blobs on video, a new housing has been ordered so we will see what thats like.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
45,998
Reaction score
24,777
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
I can now confirm that the gopro cable from amazon records in stereo, my setup is, autocom on bike with pillion to rider mic's and headsets all connected via the autocom to a zumo 660 satnav for directions and listening to music, i have now incorperated the gitup git 2 so it records video and everything you hear from the satnav and also all you hear from rider to pillion and pillion to rider, and now i am happy, all i need to do now is find out what was causing the white blobs on video, a new housing has been ordered so we will see what thats like.
have you got some detail on the bike intercom gear you have, we're doing some bike compatible product and will make sure it's suitable for use with this if it's a good solution you have
 

leedude03

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
Jokiin what information do you require, a lot of my equipment has been altered to do the job i require it to do. Only to happy to supply you any or all info on what i have and how its been configured to work, or if you require pointers on what people want to use to make it easier/suitable . if you pm me your e mail we can discuss .
 

Purun

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
23
Reaction score
3
Country
France

Purun

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
23
Reaction score
3
Country
France
Comparison videos from today with more light.

GIT1:
1080P 30FPS, all settings are default
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/87188249/2016_0424_114624_001.MOV

GIT2:
Firmware V1.4, 1080P 30FPS, high Bitrate, other settings are default
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/87188249/2016_0424_114752_002.MP4

GIT2:
Firmware V1.4, 1440P 30FPS, high Bitrate, other settings are default
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/87188249/2016_0424_114819_003.MP4


By the way, is it possible to presetting the colors on the Git1 a bit more like on the Git2? I believe increase in red and blue would help.
 

GitupII

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
6
Country
Spain
The Git1 has better sharpness/detail. Color is not accurate on both but better on the Git2 (closer to real colors when desaturated).

It looks like the weak point on the Git2 (hopefully fixable by firmware) is in the micro detail. After some meters the sharpness on the Git2 is noticeable lower than the first meters. It seems like a depth of field quality loss...i noticed this in my first videos the other day using a chesty on my bike.

Maybe i'm wrong but i think Gyro produces some quality loss. When it is on I have seem how the image gets a bit blury and then is refocused, blury again and then refocused and so on.

I remember the firmware 1.3 being sharper. Hopefully a new firmware can give a better image quality regarding to sharpness, i believe that if the micro detail is well tuned the problem would be solved. Add to this a less saturated color and a lower contrast and the image quality on the Git2 would be awesome on default values.
So if it is fixable by firmware we should let @Gitup know it. I also have the same request, I think is the main needed to improve this awesome cam.

About the gyro, yes is digital zoom, there is no another way to make a video without shake (unless you get a gimbal) even if you edit your videos with softwares will do the same process

Saludos, J
 

Loserkid

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2015
Messages
16
Reaction score
11
Country
Spain
Dash Cam
GitUp Git2, GoPro Hero 4 Silver
Probably this is a better thread as I guess my problem is not related with firmware but with the hardware:

My shutter button doesn't work. I turned it on this morning and I was able to switch between different modes but when I press the shutter button nothing happens. I've just reinstalled the last firmware and I'm still facing the problem. Any help? @gitup
https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/gitup-git2-firmware.15476/page-18#post-243142
Please, I need help with that... I need the camera for a coming trip I'll do... I saw there were other people with the same problem: http://www.gitup.com/forum/index.php?threads/shutter-select-button-dead.89/

@gitup, can you help me?
 

Nigel

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
8,507
Reaction score
4,269
Location
Devon
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Gitup F1, A129, B1W, B2W
Hi all

What is the perpose of the RO folder?
For read only files, protected by the g sensor or by pressing the menu button if assigned for file protection.
 

Gibson99

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
8,962
Reaction score
7,370
Location
Houston, we've had a problem, Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
(2x) A119, (2x) A118c, iTrue X3, Git1, Git2
Probably this is a better thread as I guess my problem is not related with firmware but with the hardware:

My shutter button doesn't work. I turned it on this morning and I was able to switch between different modes but when I press the shutter button nothing happens. I've just reinstalled the last firmware and I'm still facing the problem. Any help? @gitup
https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/gitup-git2-firmware.15476/page-18#post-243142
Please, I need help with that... I need the camera for a coming trip I'll do... I saw there were other people with the same problem: http://www.gitup.com/forum/index.php?threads/shutter-select-button-dead.89/

@gitup, can you help me?
Does it work with the remote or WiFi app?
 

Visconti

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
38
Reaction score
63
Country
Spain
Maybe it's about "branding love", but (IMHO) I don't see that "poor image quality". On the contrary, I am delighted with the camera to be more versatile with each firmware update. And this also allows goes deeper into photo or video editing.


Firmware 1.4
1440/30fps and 1080/60fps - Wide angle
ISO: Auto / EV-1
WB: Sun
Gyro: Off
Color: Normal
Sharpen: Normal
Bitrate: High
Volume: Medium
 

leedude03

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
visconti what a nice video and well edited, what editing software do you use. well done.
 

Gibson99

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
8,962
Reaction score
7,370
Location
Houston, we've had a problem, Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
(2x) A119, (2x) A118c, iTrue X3, Git1, Git2
visconti what a nice video and well edited, what editing software do you use. well done.
agree - beautiful beach, beautiful dog (what breed is that?), and excellent editing and effects. i laughed at the big text just sitting on the water line at the beginning. great use of the gimbal - surprised it's that smooth even without gyro. how do you get it to pan vertically when using a gimbal? do you have controls on the stick/handle?
 

Visconti

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
38
Reaction score
63
Country
Spain
Thanks a lot!
All the effects I've done with After Effects. I really wanted to try something about "cheap motion tracking", even so it was little bit heavy to my computer, maybe 4 hours of render a 10 seconds clip, but... It was fun, really fun!
About gimbal, it has a button to change tracking modes, one of which allows a vertical panning easily by focus the stick/camera up or down. It absorbs sudden movements really well, but needs to regular calibration to stay completely horizontal. In fact, in this video there is an error 1 or 2 degrees to the horizontal.
The dog is a Samoyed. The absolutely queen of my house.
 
OP
gitup

gitup

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jun 29, 2015
Messages
815
Reaction score
903
Country
China
Dash Cam
GIT1, GIT2
Where can we reduce the contrast?
We will check if the contrast option make sense and can be implemented or not, I am afraid too many options.
 

Similar threads


Top