GitUp Git2- Support, FAQ, Review

GhostMaster

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2016
Messages
49
Reaction score
18
Country
Portugal
I believe the normal color profile has too much contrast and the blacks are too deep. This forces to move the EV up and details are lost then in the highlights (forget about clouds!). Less contrast will improve dynamic range, side to side comparisons against other cams would be favorable to Git2 clearly since the thing you noticed inmediately is how underexposed the Git2 is compared to other cams.
+1 just this.

Thanks for all effort on this camera gitup, I'm an happy user and i recommend to my friends that are ordering too, this level of cs made me love this company/camera. Great job so far.
 

Visconti

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
38
Reaction score
63
Country
Spain
I believe the normal color profile has too much contrast and the blacks are too deep. This forces to move the EV up and details are lost then in the highlights (forget about clouds!). Less contrast will improve dynamic range, side to side comparisons against other cams would be favorable to Git2 clearly since the thing you noticed inmediately is how underexposed the Git2 is compared to other cams.
Although by reducing contrast digitally, up blacks a little and and down saturation, it is now possible to obtain good results without noise, a real flat profile I think it would be quite interesting.
 

GitupII

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
6
Country
Spain
Hi @Gitup I have a problem (maybe is my camera or maybe a bug in fw) when the camera is ON and the screen is OFF:

in picture mode--> I push the video button in my RC wristband and starts recording its OK

In video mode--> I push video button in my RC wristband and here is the problem it just wake up the screen, I have to push it one more time to start recording. And for stop the video I have to push the shutdown button instead of the video button again (I consider it much less intuitive...)

Please test it, I want to know if is only my problem. If it was firmware bug you should fix it because RC seems less valuable. Thanks

Pd. I have activated both rc modes in my configuration

Saludos, J
 

leedude03

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
Saludos J, i have mentioned this in a previouse post, i have the same issue, its not exactly a problem more of an anoyance for me as i wear the cam on a helmet and can not see the led to see if its recording or not.
 
OP
gitup

gitup

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jun 29, 2015
Messages
817
Reaction score
908
Country
China
Dash Cam
GIT1, GIT2
Use Git2 as web camera on Windows 10, please download the latest K-Lite Codec Pack, and preview the video with AMCAP 9.2 or 9.22.
I have tested it with Amcap and Skype without problems.
 

GitupII

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
6
Country
Spain
Saludos J, i have mentioned this in a previouse post, i have the same issue, its not exactly a problem more of an anoyance for me as i wear the cam on a helmet and can not see the led to see if its recording or not.
So it is not fixable by updating firmware? I find useless the rc feature in that case

Saludos, J
 

leedude03

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Country
United Kingdom
omegamoto neither option works because once the screen is off the first press wakes the screen and you then have to press again, as i said not exactly a problem but more of an anoyance for me. the only way i can see to avoid this, is to have the screen on all the time, maybe some one could tell me how much this would impact on battery life.
 

Jde

New Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
18
Reaction score
5
Location
Virginia, USA
Country
United States
Dash Cam
GITUP Git2, Pgk blackbox
@gitup

In camera-photo mode: Is there a way to specify duration along with time laspe?

For instance, take a photo every 1 minute for a total of 30 mins.

Thanks...

If not, this would be a useful feature to add via firmware?
 

jauling

Active Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2015
Messages
117
Reaction score
65
Location
Amsterdam
Country
Netherlands
Dash Cam
gopro hero hd, gitup git2, yi 4k+
This may seem silly, but is it possible to buy replacement lens caps from gitup? I lost mine... I'm referring to the whitish silicon cap the git2 ships with. Thanks!
 

Visconti

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
38
Reaction score
63
Country
Spain
This may seem silly, but is it possible to buy replacement lens caps from gitup? I lost mine... I'm referring to the whitish silicon cap the git2 ships with. Thanks!
+1
I've just lost mine on Sunday.
 

dragonball

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2016
Messages
14
Reaction score
8
Country
Portugal
Dash Cam
GitUp Git2
One video made with my Git2, some colour's are a little different because used a CPL filter and don't chose the best settings to record with them (someone who using CPL filter can give some tips?). Lost some quality/detail after upload to youtube.

 

kamkar1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
22,474
Reaction score
12,566
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
Wish we had walks like that here, sure we walk too but the vistas are not so good looking.
 

David M

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
14
Reaction score
7
Country
United States
Just got my Git2. And I agree... the biggest weakness is the dynamic range compared to Xiaomi Yi with proper scripts. Or even compared to a GoPro.
The Git2 is too contrasty. And it destroys the overall image quality in my opinion. I rather have the option for a flatter video so I can adjust the contrast in post.

Gonna start to read back. Hopefully there's a way to run scripts like on the Yi to change some of the options not exposed via the Git2 regular menu.

Almost the perfect GoPro alternative.
 

scrapie

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
Portugal
Hi all,

Anyone experienced Gitup losing totall battery charge in a few days turned off?
On time, i will test upgrading to FW1.4, test with another battery, and check if i have any issue on time/date.

Could this be caused by time/date issues reported, descharging batery to keep this infos on cam memory?
Hi all,

Just tested with 2 original gitup batteries and running fw 1.4. Battery last 3/4 days max with cam OFF!
Any suggestion about what and how fix this?
 

scrapie

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
Portugal
With battery out of the camera, it just keep full charge. So, both batteries seems ok to me.

I remember someone in the past having some kind of problems with capacitores/resistences being in touch with some other internal cam components...

:/
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
47,693
Reaction score
26,167
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
With battery out of the camera, it just keep full charge. So, both batteries seems ok to me.
so maybe don't store the batteries in the camera ;)

I remember someone in the past having some kind of problems with capacitores/resistences being in touch with some other internal cam components...

:/
that was the Xiaomi camera
 

scrapie

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Country
Portugal
It just annoying lose all charge every time i rest my cam, and losing system date/time results in a footage mix inside mSD card.
 

Similar threads


Top