Novatek (NT9665X) firmware studies

vvs49

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
220
Reaction score
92
Country
Ukraine
I compared, 60 much better !!
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
47,686
Reaction score
26,163
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
For low light 30fps will give better results but for 60fps it probably drops the frame rate or frame doubles to achieve the same result anyway, 60fps will generally look better in good lighting conditions

Regardless, use what you feel is best, there's no one set answer
 

vvs49

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
220
Reaction score
92
Country
Ukraine

Leo_SF

Active Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
32
Country
United States
So 20mbps is stable with WIFI on and 36mbps with WIFI off?

Will this firmware corrupt/mess with screen performance?
 

Leo_SF

Active Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
32
Country
United States
I used the FW96658A file on my A307(Zeepin/AOTBY/AZDOME) dashcam and now the screen does not work. The camera turns on with a Chinese greeting and has a red light on. However I cannot get the wifi on or anything else to work. Any ideas?

Upon double checking the card, the camera recorded footage at 37.374 MBPS. Very impressive! If only the screen or WIFI worked.
 
Last edited:

Leo_SF

Active Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
32
Country
United States
Can someone with JOOY A1 tell me the button presses needed to log into WIFI?

I am hearing or seeing responses only from power button and down button on my A307 so I am guessing A1 only has 2 buttons on the side and no other?
 

vvs49

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
220
Reaction score
92
Country
Ukraine
Can someone with JOOY A1 tell me the button presses needed to log into WIFI?
there is no such button, the last firmware made by Wifi is not disabled.
There is a firmware in which in a few minutes, the Wifi will shut down.
A short press on the power, turns on the wifi.
 

Attachments

Leo_SF

Active Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
32
Country
United States
I tried it with wall plug and it did not work to get into WIFI.
 

Leo_SF

Active Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
32
Country
United States
On a side note it's a bit annoying though how the dashcams are limited to 10-12MBPS when they can do upwards of 40....The quality was definitely improved. I do not know if it was 3+ times better but it was noticeably sharper.
 

kamkar1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
22,463
Reaction score
12,554
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
annoying though how the dashcams are limited to 10-12MBPS when they can do upwards of 40
No argument here, but it is most of all a thermal and so a lifetime issue, and also at 40 mbit every 3 minutes of driving is around 1000 MB.
But i have run 40 mbit on my joovuu X cam for well over a year, but i cant say if thats is why i recently had to retire it due to it acting up a little.
With the remote camera models on the horizon i was hoping for the makers to use the fact that the main unit then dont need to be that small, and so they could use better / larger cooling solutions to make higher bitrates a option at least.
I too feel the 18 - 20 mbit that seem to be the norm now are a tad on the low side, i would like to see 25 - 30 instead, even on memory card cameras, but with higher bitrate i would like to see other solutions for storage.
 

Leo_SF

Active Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
32
Country
United States
Most of the time, there's no ability to change the bitrate. Even selecting 'superfine' quality rarely bumps up bitrate very much.

I have used the A307 with 37.5mb/s bitrate and there's no issue with overheating. I am even using a crappy older 32GB sandisk card which may or may not even be class 10 which just barely fits the requirements. There are specifically cards designed for repeated writing like Sandisk High Endurance line of micro SD cards. My Sandisk card worked well for two years in my Mini 0806 even despite some bad cables. It finally corrupted when I suddenly lost power and permanently wrote 3 300mb files which cannot be overwritten or formatted.
 

Leo_SF

Active Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
32
Country
United States
Is there a sysconfig for Novatek 96658 chipset with which you can set the correct date?
 

Leo_SF

Active Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
32
Country
United States
I am locked out of my A307 dashcam after the upgrade to the Jooy A1 36MBPS bitrate FW. I am trying to at least get the date to show properly.
 

vvs49

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
220
Reaction score
92
Country
Ukraine
I struggle with the light of the white, the tables do not help, only exposure in the minus, gives the result, but then the frame is dark.
Until I won !! :(

re.jpg
 

Top