[Question] Wiring Compatibility | DR650GW-2CH vs DR900S-2CH

nunz

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
I currently have a DR650GW-2CH dual-camera system in my vehicle.

Are all the wires that connect the front and rear cameras in the DR650GW-2CH system completely compatible with all the wires for the DR900-2CH system? Or, do I have to install a new set of wires for the DR900-2CH system?

Please advise. Thank you!
 

silverfox

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
42
Reaction score
17
Country
United Kingdom
I currently have a DR650GW-2CH dual-camera system in my vehicle.

Are all the wires that connect the front and rear cameras in the DR650GW-2CH system completely compatible with all the wires for the DR900-2CH system? Or, do I have to install a new set of wires for the DR900-2CH system?

Please advise. Thank you!
Unfortunately the cable that connects the rear to the front camera is not the same on the 900 so you will need to replace the 650 cable with the 900 one.
 
OP
nunz

nunz

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
Thank you, silverfox, for writing to me. I really needed this information mainly to prepare myself for the extent of installation for a 900. So, I appreciate your information greatly.
 

BlackboxMyCar

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 21, 2014
Messages
838
Reaction score
406
Location
Vancouver, BC
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Thinkware, BlackVue, IROAD, Viofo, BlackSys
If you have the BlackVue OEM coaxial cable then it's the same for the DR650S and DR900S. BlackVue's website also confirms this: https://www.blackvue.com/product/coaxial-cable/

One thing to note - they made the coaxial cable more durable when the DR750S came out, but the coaxial cables will fit all 3 models nonetheless.
 

silverfox

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
42
Reaction score
17
Country
United Kingdom
If you have the BlackVue OEM coaxial cable then it's the same for the DR650S and DR900S. BlackVue's website also confirms this: https://www.blackvue.com/product/coaxial-cable/

One thing to note - they made the coaxial cable more durable when the DR750S came out, but the coaxial cables will fit all 3 models nonetheless.
You are correct, it does say they are compatible on the BlackVue website but in practice that aren’t, or at least mine wasn't. When I upgraded to the 900S from the 650GW the connector on the 650 cable would not fit in the 900 camera socket. It was very slightly bigger so rather than force it I decided to use the cable that came with the 900S.
 
Last edited:

BlackboxMyCar

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 21, 2014
Messages
838
Reaction score
406
Location
Vancouver, BC
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Thinkware, BlackVue, IROAD, Viofo, BlackSys
Are you sure you were using OEM BlackVue? For example, our coaxial cable for the DR650S wouldn't fit the DR750S and DR900S.

However, our OEM BlackVue cables do fit for all 3 models.
 

EsQueue

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
91
Reaction score
82
Location
Southern California
Country
United States
I don't know about the 900 but I can confirm that the exact came cable works for the 650GW, 650S, and 750S. In fact, the only thing different was the front camera mount in the 750S.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,022
Reaction score
28,263
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

silverfox

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
42
Reaction score
17
Country
United Kingdom
Are you sure you were using OEM BlackVue? For example, our coaxial cable for the DR650S wouldn't fit the DR750S and DR900S.

However, our OEM BlackVue cables do fit for all 3 models.
They were both the cable that came in the box. Perhaps I was being a bit cautious. I would have preferred not to have replaced the cable as it was a pain removing the old one and installing the new one behind all the panelling.
 
OP
nunz

nunz

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2013
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
I really appreciate this thread. If I purchase a DR900-2CH, I can in the least try to see if the existing coax for my DR650GW-2CH can be used.

Though it is not directly related to this thread, can I ask a few follow-up questions?
1. The brackets for the front cameras for DR650GW-2CH and DR900-2CH are not compatible, correct?
2. How about the brackets for the rear cameras?
 

EsQueue

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
91
Reaction score
82
Location
Southern California
Country
United States
I really appreciate this thread. If I purchase a DR900-2CH, I can in the least try to see if the existing coax for my DR650GW-2CH can be used.

Though it is not directly related to this thread, can I ask a few follow-up questions?
1. The brackets for the front cameras for DR650GW-2CH and DR900-2CH are not compatible, correct?
2. How about the brackets for the rear cameras?
 

silverfox

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
42
Reaction score
17
Country
United Kingdom
I really appreciate this thread. If I purchase a DR900-2CH, I can in the least try to see if the existing coax for my DR650GW-2CH can be used.

Though it is not directly related to this thread, can I ask a few follow-up questions?
1. The brackets for the front cameras for DR650GW-2CH and DR900-2CH are not compatible, correct?
2. How about the brackets for the rear cameras?
The front bracket isn’t but the rear one is.
 
Top