Viofo A119s Firmware

dude2017

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2017
Messages
32
Reaction score
3
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
Viofo A 129 Duo
Hello together with which firmware with the Viofo A 119s since you are satisfied? In which firmware can you read the license plate well?
 

Harsh

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,225
Reaction score
3,077
Location
Delhi
Country
India
Dash Cam
SG9665GC V2, A119 V2, Mobius, Mobius 2, Mobius Maxi
You'd want to be on the latest firmware (2.2), includes important bug fixes.

Depending on what time of the day it is and the lighting conditions, number plate capture can be a hit or a miss.
 

Mineshaft

Active Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
261
Reaction score
151
Location
South shore of Geogian Bay, Ontario
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Viofo A119S V2, 7G F1.6, FW A119S_180919_V4.0, GPS, CPL
Hello together with which firmware with the Viofo A 119s since you are satisfied? In which firmware can you read the license plate well?
If you are having any problems with your A119S, upgrade to Firmware V2.2.
I found the best way to optimize the image is to adjust Resolution, Exposure and WDR to best meet my envirionment.
I have the following settings:
Resolution 1920 x 1080p 60fps
Exposure +0.0 for winter and -0.1/3 for summer, change settings in conjunction with DST and STD time zone.
WDR On
Firmware V1.7, presently working fine and no need to upgrade, will up grade if any future problem occurs.
I live at 44 degrees N Latitude and these settings adequately suit the amount of sunlight I get in my region..
I think I'm getting reasonably good license plate views so I'm satisfied.
You don't need to do anything radical.
Just tweek the above and you'll find the best settings to meet your needs and suit your region.
 
Last edited:

Harsh

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,225
Reaction score
3,077
Location
Delhi
Country
India
Dash Cam
SG9665GC V2, A119 V2, Mobius, Mobius 2, Mobius Maxi
Even without a side by side comparison (as I have just one A119), I saw a major improvement towards number plate capture at night from the A119's Beta HDR firmware. I hope HDR is implemented on the A119S.

For now on the A119S I use 60fps + WDR on. Also I've been experimenting with telephoto lenses mounted to a Mobius for distant number plate capture, which again can be a hit or a miss.
 

Mineshaft

Active Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
261
Reaction score
151
Location
South shore of Geogian Bay, Ontario
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Viofo A119S V2, 7G F1.6, FW A119S_180919_V4.0, GPS, CPL
Hello together with which firmware with the Viofo A 119s since you are satisfied? In which firmware can you read the license plate well?
I'm only concerned about license plates next to my car or within a car length.
If they are farther than 2 car lengths away I don't need to be concerned.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gse

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
673
Country
Netherlands
You'd want to be on the latest firmware (2.2), includes important bug fixes.

Depending on what time of the day it is and the lighting conditions, number plate capture can be a hit or a miss.
I'm running 2.1,i have no issues, the

Change log:
  • 1.Added: Finally fixed camera freezing while showing XXXXX on screen.

I never had that, are there any other improvements that should move me to upgrade?
 

Harsh

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,225
Reaction score
3,077
Location
Delhi
Country
India
Dash Cam
SG9665GC V2, A119 V2, Mobius, Mobius 2, Mobius Maxi
You'd want to be on the latest firmware (2.2), includes important bug fixes.

Depending on what time of the day it is and the lighting conditions, number plate capture can be a hit or a miss.
I'm running 2.1,i have no issues, the

Change log:
  • 1.Added: Finally fixed camera freezing while showing XXXXX on screen.

I never had that, are there any other improvements that should move me to upgrade?
Bug fix to be precise.

2.2 also shows

Change log:
1.Added: Finally fixed camera freezing while showing XXXXX on screen.

Seems that finally tamed it with 2.2
 

dirkzelf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2012
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
673
Country
Netherlands
Bug fix to be precise.

2.2 also shows

Change log:
1.Added: Finally fixed camera freezing while showing XXXXX on screen.

Seems that finally tamed it with 2.2
Yeah man, I know, that's what I said, you are repeating me.....? Hahaha big Q is SHOULD I UPDATE if I don't have that xxxxx freeze thingie?

Is there more to this update that should be moving g me to update?
 

Harsh

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,225
Reaction score
3,077
Location
Delhi
Country
India
Dash Cam
SG9665GC V2, A119 V2, Mobius, Mobius 2, Mobius Maxi
Actually the changelog for 2.1 was also the same, hence I mentioned "2.2 also shows".

If you haven't experience the X-boxes on 2.1 or earlier versions, really no reason to update.

Personally I'd still update, just so it's running the latest available version.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,793
Reaction score
1,342
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
I would update so that you don’t get the XXXXXX issue. It was not officially fixed in V2.1.
 

Nevl666

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
I have two of these 119s cams .. both at 2.1.
One of them works fine (and has done for around 3 months or so) the other one was a replacement for a previous one that packed up with this issue last month. This replacement had this issue yesterday so I reflashed the f/w to 2.1 last night and it worked again .. today I will update both to 2.4 as per Viofo support site "Latest A119S firmware is released , version number is V2.4,"
 

viofo

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Sep 29, 2015
Messages
875
Reaction score
1,658
Location
Shenzhen
Country
China
Dash Cam
A129 Pro / A129 Duo / A119 V3 / A119S / G1W-S / WR1/
We haven't heard much XXX issue for recently batch with latest FW.
 

Nevl666

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
I did notice the video noise on the display screen has disappeared on both A119s units since I updated last night .. that's a plus for me
 

Liber8

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
7
Country
United States
Bug fix to be precise.

2.2 also shows

Change log:
1.Added: Finally fixed camera freezing while showing XXXXX on screen.

Seems that finally tamed it with 2.2
Just got this camera freezing with the XXXXX a few days ago while on 2.2 Updated firmware to the latest 2.4 hope this fixes it. Seems like once a month this is happening to me now that I am out of warranty
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,793
Reaction score
1,342
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Just got this camera freezing with the XXXXX a few days ago while on 2.2 Updated firmware to the latest 2.4 hope this fixes it. Seems like once a month this is happening to me now that I am out of warranty
Be sure you are manually defaulting the camera in the settings after updating. This helps ensure to clear any leftover values from the previous firmware.
 

Harsh

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,225
Reaction score
3,077
Location
Delhi
Country
India
Dash Cam
SG9665GC V2, A119 V2, Mobius, Mobius 2, Mobius Maxi
Bug fix to be precise.

2.2 also shows

Change log:
1.Added: Finally fixed camera freezing while showing XXXXX on screen.

Seems that finally tamed it with 2.2
Just got this camera freezing with the XXXXX a few days ago while on 2.2 Updated firmware to the latest 2.4 hope this fixes it. Seems like once a month this is happening to me now that I am out of warranty
2.2 and now 2.4 have been rock solid for me. As CYA mentioned, reload 2.4 and reset to defaults and see how it goes.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,793
Reaction score
1,342
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
2.2 and now 2.4 have been rock solid for me. As CYA mentioned, reload 2.4 and reset to defaults and see how it goes.
If I recall, you still experienced the screen issue with V2.2 (not with the XXXXXX's) correct? I remember Viofo saying it could be the ribbon cable causing it and they were going to send you a new ribbon cable (maybe I'm not remembering correctly). Did you ever change the ribbon cable and did you ever experience the screen issue again?
 

Harsh

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,225
Reaction score
3,077
Location
Delhi
Country
India
Dash Cam
SG9665GC V2, A119 V2, Mobius, Mobius 2, Mobius Maxi
2.2 and now 2.4 have been rock solid for me. As CYA mentioned, reload 2.4 and reset to defaults and see how it goes.
If I recall, you still experienced the screen issue with V2.2 (not with the XXXXXX's) correct? I remember Viofo saying it could be the ribbon cable causing it and they were going to send you a new ribbon cable (maybe I'm not remembering correctly). Did you ever change the ribbon cable and did you ever experience the screen issue again?
Now that I remember correctly, the screen glitch without the XXXXXX's did happen on 2.2. Resetting to defaults with the micro SD out took care of that. Ribbon cable was not changed, only reseated.
 

OCD Tronic

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
1,008
Reaction score
752
Location
Carson City, Nevada (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
VIOFO, GitUp, INNOVV, QVIA, GUARD TRAK + More on Amazon.com
Agreed, 2.4 has been very good for all my customers so far.
 

Similar threads


Top