VIOFO a119s FIRMWARE

ting

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
2
Likes
1
Country
Australia
#1
Hi, Can someone give me the latest version firmware of VIOFO a119s im trying to do it online but it gives me a .bin file which i cannot open.
Thanks for your help!
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,445
Likes
1,117
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
#2
Hi, Can someone give me the latest version firmware of VIOFO a119s im trying to do it online but it gives me a .bin file which i cannot open.
Thanks for your help!
Your not supposed to open the .bin file. That is the firmware file. Just copy it to your memory card as is and insert it into the camera and start it up. It will update automatically.
 

Iggy

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2017
Messages
13
Likes
3
Location
Phoenix Arizona
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Viofo A119S V2, Lexar High Endurance Class 10 32GB memory
#5
Wow ! Going from V2.61 to V4.0 means its a major revision.
Has anyone tested to see the difference in picture quality or whatever?
Here is what they said they changed.
Question
What is SDK?
Support for .TS format?
Changed bitrate to ?
Improved image quality?

A119S V4.0 Firmware

Change log:
  1. Updated: Update to latest SDK
  2. Added: Support .TS format
  3. Added: Sharpness and Bitrate option
  4. Improved: Improve the image quality.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
43,791
Likes
22,893
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
#6
Question
What is SDK?
Support for .TS format?
Changed bitrate to ?
Improved image quality?
Software Development Kit, what is used to build the firmware, new SDK includes fixes from Novatek
Transport Stream, optional format along with MP4, your choice
Bitrate options allow better image quality
Image quality improvements are always welcome
 

Iggy

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2017
Messages
13
Likes
3
Location
Phoenix Arizona
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Viofo A119S V2, Lexar High Endurance Class 10 32GB memory
#7
Thanks jokiin
So I guess mp4 is better?
Also is a higher bit rate better ?
Have you done any modifications to help us lay people a bit.
Thanks
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
43,791
Likes
22,893
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
#8
you want to use MP4 if you are using GPS, no playback options for GPS in TS files at this time

higher bitrate will generally help get better results (up to a certain point)

there are also modified firmwares available for the Viofo cameras, those have their own thread for each model
 

Caerus

Active Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2014
Messages
186
Likes
229
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
DCTeam, A118, A119S-V2
#9
Wow ! Going from V2.61 to V4.0 means its a major revision.
Has anyone tested to see the difference in picture quality or whatever?
Yeah, there's a big difference. In the modified fw thread many of us have tested 2.61 and tons of variations of it, as well as the beta of 4.0, official 4.0, and variations of it as well.

Basically, install 4.0, and burn 2.61. It's a vast improvement.

If you're happy with 4.0, stick with it. If you're a little adventurous afterwards, have a look at the modified fw thread and you can try out some of the mod fw that we're using.
 

Mineshaft

Active Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
252
Likes
143
Location
South shore of Geogian Bay, Ontario
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Viofo A119S V2, 7G F1.6, FW A119S_180730_V2.61, GPS, CPL
#10
I’m using Firmware A119S_180730_V2.61 installed Aug. 3, 2018
It has 31 Menu Settings and I have 9 Settings Off and 1 Not Used.
My A119S V2 has performed very well for over 16 months with no issues.
I’m not keen to change firmware just for change sake.
In fact all I do is keep the sd card formatted and the optical path clean.
I’m curious to see what the Menu Settings are in the new Firmware.
Would someone be kind to post the new Menu Settings for V4.0?
Thank you.
 

Swin

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2018
Messages
18
Likes
3
Country
China
#11
In Firmware A119S_V4.0, there are 34 Menu settings, some changes as below:
Video format: .TS and .MP4(default)
sharpness: Strong, Normal(default), Soft
Bitrate: Normal(default), High
 

Mineshaft

Active Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
252
Likes
143
Location
South shore of Geogian Bay, Ontario
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Viofo A119S V2, 7G F1.6, FW A119S_180730_V2.61, GPS, CPL
#12
In Firmware A119S_V4.0, there are 34 Menu settings, some changes as below:
Video format: .TS and .MP4(default)
sharpness: Strong, Normal(default), Soft
Bitrate: Normal(default), High
Thank you for your response.
That was exactly what I was looking for.
When the time comes to upgrade my Firmware I'll know whats in store and set up accordingly to meet my needs.
 

Iggy

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2017
Messages
13
Likes
3
Location
Phoenix Arizona
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Viofo A119S V2, Lexar High Endurance Class 10 32GB memory
#13
Version 4.0 does make the video sharper and clearer and I noticed the additional menu setting.
Great job
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
2
Likes
1
Country
United Kingdom
#14
Is there a common problem when updating the firmware where the red light keeps rapidly blinking but the firmware will not update? I appear to be on version 2.8 and tried to update when I purchased the camera but had no success then - and not now with version 4.0. The instructions seem to be fairly straightforward so I have no idea if perhaps I am getting it wrong. Download the file, copy it to a recently formatted card Fat32 and insert that into the camera. Restart camera while connected to the pc. Red light rapid blinking for a minute or so. That about right? The light blinks alright but nothing happens.
Any ideas?
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
2,445
Likes
1,117
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
#15
Is there a common problem when updating the firmware where the red light keeps rapidly blinking but the firmware will not update? I appear to be on version 2.8 and tried to update when I purchased the camera but had no success then - and not now with version 4.0. The instructions seem to be fairly straightforward so I have no idea if perhaps I am getting it wrong. Download the file, copy it to a recently formatted card Fat32 and insert that into the camera. Restart camera while connected to the pc. Red light rapid blinking for a minute or so. That about right? The light blinks alright but nothing happens.
Any ideas?
Use a USB wall charger and not your PC to power it during the update and see what happens. Did you format the card in the camera or on your PC before copying the .bin file over to the card?
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2019
Messages
2
Likes
1
Country
United Kingdom
#16
Hi,
Yes I tried various methods to get it to update with no luck. This might be strange, not sure, changing the startup delay to 15 sec did the trick. Did that as a default behaviour not as any knowledge that it might help but for some reason it has now updated to version 4 with that setting.

Thanks for getting back to me. Much appreciated and thank for your help.
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
Mtz A119S 57
Hermes14 A119S 4
J A119S 17
BCHobbyist A119S 1157
D A119S 18

Similar threads

Top