A118C "NoGPS" Problem...

aprilia

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
24
Likes
7
Location
Şanlıurfa
Country
Turkey
Dash Cam
A118-C
#1
--------------------------------
EDIT: The problem solved with new firmware: 20160130 or 20160316
--------------------------------
I have a problem with gps or cam; or both of them.
I purchased them from different sellers on ebay.

I had a trouble with cam about high-piched noise early. My gps is arrived yet and i connected it to my a118c and thicked gps is ON. There is a warning that "No GPS" on cam screen. I am confused which is broken.

I dont want to make an effort about this problem. I already waited too much the shipping China to Turkey. I wanna fix this. Is this about firmware or some?
Here are the pics. Firmware on : B40C.20150921.001





 
Last edited:

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
43,216
Likes
22,499
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
#4
pretty sure there are others that have bought this same one that also reported that it didn't work, there's a few models that can work but this one is below the cost of the cheapest one that I know of that is compatible, that always makes me suspicious
 
OP
OP
aprilia

aprilia

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
24
Likes
7
Location
Şanlıurfa
Country
Turkey
Dash Cam
A118-C
#5
You are right jokiin. There is a word in my country : "I'm not rich enough to buy cheap goods"
But I am a newbie on this dashcams. So i bought one of these gps modules.
Ok then. What do you offer me to buy a gps for my cam?
And also i have to ask this, viofo, car black box(this is mine), car dvr etc. Are there differences between these brands? Or all same? Of course except SG9665GC.
 
OP
OP
aprilia

aprilia

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
24
Likes
7
Location
Şanlıurfa
Country
Turkey
Dash Cam
A118-C
#7
Ok thanks. But i asked a tiny question that is about the differences between the other brands of 118-c
For example viofo,car black box etc.

And one more question..
How can i control the gps antenna's health manually?
It has 3.5 mm jack. What can i do with this? What i need about electrical equipments to control it? Is it working or not? Beacuse, the cam's "jack in" maybe broken.
How can i know?
 

dash riposki

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2015
Messages
3,340
Likes
2,678
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobiusx3, A118C, A119, Ausdom A261, AD282, etc
#8
I think all of the A118-c versions are made in the same factory. The battery version A118 is made in several different factories.
I haven't had my a118c apart, but I'd guess the gps jack would be easy to check.
 

jz77f

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
7
Likes
1
Country
Czech Republic
#10
Hi,
I've got exactly the same configuration: a cheap 'A118C' from e-bay (seller known as uk_g_jeemak) and a separately bought GPS module - same as on your pics. After I discovered that the GPS module is not recognised ("No GPS"), I asked uk_g_jeemak why. He replied that this model of A118C does not support GPS. Interestingly enough, GPS socket contacts are soldered on to the PCB, so one would assume it was done for a purpose. ..But god knows why they do it. The seller said that if I wanted to have a GPS functionality, I would have to purchase a more expensive model. By the way, the model I bought has no label saying A118C, neither on the box, nor in the manual, nor on the device itself, so I am wondering if it's not a clone.. The version displayed in Settings is the same as yours.
 

VINOD

New Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
2
Likes
1
Country
United States
#12
I purchased unbranded from EBAY (http://www.ebay.com/itm/121858660318) and same issue, (Even connecting GPS Module showing NO GPS) I Have downloaded (https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/a118c-new-firmware-a118-20160130.17750/) http://www.viofo.com/download/firmware/a118c/20160130/A118C_20160130.zip firmware and works fine with out any problem. Now start up screen showing "VIOFO" That is the only change i see.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
77
Likes
14
Country
Spain
#13
I purchased unbranded from EBAY (http://www.ebay.com/itm/121858660318) and same issue, (Even connecting GPS Module showing NO GPS) I Have downloaded (https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/a118c-new-firmware-a118-20160130.17750/) http://www.viofo.com/download/firmware/a118c/20160130/A118C_20160130.zip firmware and works fine with out any problem. Now start up screen showing "VIOFO" That is the only change i see.
DO NOT use that firmware. Latest for A118C is https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/a118c-new-firmware-a118-20160130.17750/page-2#post-232070
 
OP
OP
aprilia

aprilia

New Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
24
Likes
7
Location
Şanlıurfa
Country
Turkey
Dash Cam
A118-C
#14
I purchased unbranded from EBAY (http://www.ebay.com/itm/121858660318) and same issue, (Even connecting GPS Module showing NO GPS) I Have downloaded (https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/a118c-new-firmware-a118-20160130.17750/) http://www.viofo.com/download/firmware/a118c/20160130/A118C_20160130.zip firmware and works fine with out any problem. Now start up screen showing "VIOFO" That is the only change i see.
Thank you much my friend.
I upgraded my firmware that you gave and my gps started to work.
Great job. My seller was a honest seller. I wanted to refund 50% and he paid it. :(

What's the differences from the other firmware? I think they are the same 2016 01 30
 

jz77f

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
7
Likes
1
Country
Czech Republic
#18
Thanks. But i upgraded it to 20160316 and it works fine. I think it isn't necessary to upgrade to 20160130
Thanks for the info. It still doesn't work for me. The welcome screen is not VIOFO but "Car black box". I tried both 20160316 and 20160130. I extracted the 'bin' file and copied it to the root directory of the micro card. Is that correct or should I do something else?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
59
Likes
9
Country
Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic Of
Dash Cam
G1W, A118/B40
#19
Extract the file FWB40A.bin

Delete any files from the memory card

Copy the file FWB40A.bin to the empty memory card

Insert the card to camera and connect to USB power source

Camera will power on, screen will remain blank while updating

Once update has finished camera will startup as per normal

Stop any active recording

Enter settings menu and format the memory card

Enter settings menu and reset default settings

Set the timezone to correct setting for your region

Any personalised settings will need to be reset

Process is complete

(C/P)
 

jz77f

New Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2016
Messages
7
Likes
1
Country
Czech Republic
#20
Thanks. I have followed these steps but when I connect the power (with micro card with the firmware on), the dashcam starts as normal. No upgrade is started :-(.
 

Similar threads

Top