A129 Pro Stops Recording

chrisjpark

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Is anyone else having an issue whereby the camera stops recording after a few seconds. Sometimes the camera will turn on and stop recording and the screen stays on. Sometimes it will stop recording after a little bit longer and the screen has switched off. This only seems to happen when the sd card has filled up. I’m using a Samsung Evo Pro 64gb.

interestingly if I manually hit the record button it will only record for a few seconds to a few minutes before it stops recording again, but if I enable the wifi then it will continue to record until the camera is shut down and are then back to the original problem.

I have reported this to VIOFO who provided an updated firmware (beta), but this has made no difference. I also provided viofo with test results from the SD card so assume it is not a problem with the card.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,441
Reaction score
1,845
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Is anyone else having an issue whereby the camera stops recording after a few seconds. Sometimes the camera will turn on and stop recording and the screen stays on. Sometimes it will stop recording after a little bit longer and the screen has switched off. This only seems to happen when the sd card has filled up. I’m using a Samsung Evo Pro 64gb.

interestingly if I manually hit the record button it will only record for a few seconds to a few minutes before it stops recording again, but if I enable the wifi then it will continue to record until the camera is shut down and are then back to the original problem.

I have reported this to VIOFO who provided an updated firmware (beta), but this has made no difference. I also provided viofo with test results from the SD card so assume it is not a problem with the card.
Did you manually default the cameras settings in the menu after the update? You should also press and hold the reset button on the side of the camera for about 5 seconds after manually defaulting the settings..

Be sure to format the card inside the cameras. If you still have issues, test the card with the h2testw program.
 
OP
C

chrisjpark

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
The camera automatically defaults after update as I had to put all the settings back in. The card was formatted as fat32 as recommended by VIOFO. Tests ran using h2testw and results sent to VIOFO but they did not see any issues with the results.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,441
Reaction score
1,845
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
You still need to manually default the cameras settings and then press the reset button. This will sometimes solve strange behavior after an update.
 
OP
C

chrisjpark

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
I was having the issue before the update.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,441
Reaction score
1,845
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
I was having the issue before the update.
Yes, but maybe the new firmware will fix the issue, but old values are lingering from the earlier firmware. Manually defaulting the settings and pressing the reset button should ensure that only the new values remain.
 

AlexTan

Active Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2015
Messages
175
Reaction score
62
Location
Kuala Lumpur
Country
Malaysia
Dash Cam
Viofo A129Pro Duo A129 IR Duo A119 A119S A118C & Dome GS98C
I was having the issue before the update.
Every firmware update, after updated, you need to manual press default setting. So that it will erase all the previous settings or bugs been store.

What is the updated firmware beta build you received? Version 1.2T2?
 
OP
C

chrisjpark

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Yeah. That’s the one. I will try a manual reset and see if it helps. Will also re format the card in the camera. Will take me a few days until the card fills up again before I know if it’s worked. Thanks for the input guys. Will keep you posted.
 

Paul Iddon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
1,148
Reaction score
771
Location
Preston
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
A129 Pro Duo 4K Viofo 119 Pro Viofo 119 V3 NB 522GW & 612GW
One of mine stopped when the card got full - or it has on the 2 occasions I let it fill up.

Best to format regularly - that stops the problem on mine.
 
OP
C

chrisjpark

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
I couldn’t be bothered formatting all the time. You can be guaranteed the one time I need it then I will have forgot to format.
 

Paul Iddon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
1,148
Reaction score
771
Location
Preston
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
A129 Pro Duo 4K Viofo 119 Pro Viofo 119 V3 NB 522GW & 612GW
It takes just a few seconds... And it's good practice.

But I appreciate not all users would bother.
 

xiongguoy

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
54
Reaction score
69
Location
Selangor
Country
Malaysia
Dash Cam
Viofo A129 Pro Duo, Thinkware F800 Pro, Blackvue DR650S-2CH
I guess that is what the format reminder setting is for.
 

minc3

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2019
Messages
93
Reaction score
18
Location
Kuala Lumpur
Country
Malaysia
One of mine stopped when the card got full - or it has on the 2 occasions I let it fill up.

Best to format regularly - that stops the problem on mine.
Just wondering how’s the “stop recording”? Flashing left led with continuous beeps as if we paused it?

I do occurred the situation i mentioned above. Only starts after the card got full. It will beeps + led flashing non stop until i press any of the buttons. Sometimes pressing the buttons won’t help. So just let it beep for awhile (5-10s) and it will continue to record again.
 

NewDash

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2019
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Location
Israel
Country
Israel
Just happened to me as well, my card isnt even full but the cam turns off randomly for a few seconds then starts recording again.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,441
Reaction score
1,845
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Just happened to me as well, my card isnt even full but the cam turns off randomly for a few seconds then starts recording again.
That sounds power related.
 

Paul Iddon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
1,148
Reaction score
771
Location
Preston
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
A129 Pro Duo 4K Viofo 119 Pro Viofo 119 V3 NB 522GW & 612GW
Just wondering how’s the “stop recording”? Flashing left led with continuous beeps as if we paused it?

I do occurred the situation i mentioned above. Only starts after the card got full. It will beeps + led flashing non stop until i press any of the buttons. Sometimes pressing the buttons won’t help. So just let it beep for awhile (5-10s) and it will continue to record again.
When mine stopped, the screen froze at 12 seconds into the file, both times.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,441
Reaction score
1,845
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
I think so too.
My rear cam also stutters and flickers a pink screen.
Is there a way to test it?
I might have to go back to the guy who installed it for me.
How are you powering the camera?
 

R1KSU

Active Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2018
Messages
193
Reaction score
52
Location
Thornton, Cleveleys. UK
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Zerogogo R2. Zerogogo RW100. Mini0906. Viofo A129
Mine does it to! its on the 12 ciggy lighter and every other time it just shows the screen with no recording light, I have to unplug it, then it works. will try default when I have time.
 

EGS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2019
Messages
585
Reaction score
411
Location
Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Viofo A129 Pro Duo, A119S x 2, Zenfox T3
Have you guys tried plugging the power directly to the camera instead the gps base to see if that makes any difference?
 
Top