[App] Ambarella A2 RomKitchen v0.7 (discontinued)

Status
Not open for further replies.
OP
Tobi@s

Tobi@s

Well-Known Member
App Developer
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
1,376
Reaction score
842
Location
Remote
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
none
No. Sorry :p
DirectUSB is already using the "command mode". You can't say it's a terminal where you can send commands. It's more like sending binary dataarrays to change the modes and transmit the data
 

hackit

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
So is there anyway to send the SD card fw .bin to cam if the cam is brick?
 
OP
Tobi@s

Tobi@s

Well-Known Member
App Developer
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
1,376
Reaction score
842
Location
Remote
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
none
No. But I just got another idea. let me check that when I'm at home.
 

hackit

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
No. But I just got another idea. let me check that when I'm at home.
How is the new idea? I am thinking flashing a mini0801 fw through DirectUSB to my Vico DS2. Even it won't fully work, it might look for upgrade from SD. Then I can put in the DS2 .bin fw in SD to let it flash. Do you think it will work?
 
OP
Tobi@s

Tobi@s

Well-Known Member
App Developer
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
1,376
Reaction score
842
Location
Remote
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
none
Dont do it, request the elf from vicovation. I forgot to check my idea :p You'll have to wait again
 

hackit

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
Vicovation refused to provide the elf version fw. They asked me to ship camera and will charge repairing. They also insisted the DS2 won't accept DirectUSB flash so there won't be elf fw available.. I don't think that is true since I tried the DirectUSB and flash the amboot_q2.elf from another thread http://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/bricked-mini-0801.3236/page-2 and was able to see from the DirectUSB "upload" the BST/BLD/PRI/DSP sections are all flashed in(even the cam still not booting). I also got two directory DCIM and ..(forgot name) created by the cam after the _q2.elf flash.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

hackit

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
quite interesting. I flash the 20140115_0801_SPIF_2710_A310_GPS_1CARD_OJOCAM.elf through Direct USB and now I get my Vico DS2 function like a SD card reader. Although not boot as cam yet.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,622
Reaction score
28,728
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
If you could at least get it to boot you might be able to get the correct firmware to load from card
 

evaldas325

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Country
Afghanistan
Tobi@s, would you be so kind to fix the download link for other OS?
 
OP
Tobi@s

Tobi@s

Well-Known Member
App Developer
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
1,376
Reaction score
842
Location
Remote
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
none
Link is working for me
 

evaldas325

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Country
Afghanistan
strange, I always get zero file download
-rw-r--r-- 1 evaldas evaldas 0 Feb 9 00:53 AmbaRomKitchen-041-out.jar

tried with different pc/oses, different isps
windows exe file download is okay
 

hackit

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
Dont do it, request the elf from vicovation. I forgot to check my idea :p You'll have to wait again
Hi Tobi@s,
Export all sections is working fine. Then tried to use RomKitchen to export the romFS but it keep showing "Exporting..." for very long time but the folder "..\romfs" is empty. Any thing I did wrong?

Still waiting for your idea. I have tried flashed 20130903-NO1-SPI-1CARD-2710-GPS-MA310.elf into my Vico DS2 and make it working as a SD card reader. The cam will create folder "DICM" and "MISC" in SD card after boot. The screen still black, but I can see it displaying something (like the car logo of mini0801 but just guess from the dim flashing screen). Any suggestions? Thanks!
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,622
Reaction score
28,728
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Have you tried the proper Vico firmware bin file? You may need to rename it to the 0801 naming convention though to be recognised if you have some sort of hacked 0801 version on there now
 

hackit

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
Yes, I did. But since the screen is black , I can't see anything and can only guess if there is prompt for confirming fw upgrade. No success yet. Do you know if the mini0801 fw will create the "DICM" and "MISC" folder first then check for upgrade or check for upgrade first? Will the cam check the date of .bin in SD card to decide if it is a real upgrade?
 
OP
Tobi@s

Tobi@s

Well-Known Member
App Developer
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
1,376
Reaction score
842
Location
Remote
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
none
try this filename for the vicovation .bin: firmware-NO1-SPIF-TB15.bin
Put it in the root of your sd-Card
If the Firmware is recognized you'll get an update prompt where you can choose between yes and no. (no is default)
choose yes and click "OK"
 

hackit

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
Thanks Tobi@s!

I did try that and many other names people suggested in other thread, but since I can't see the screen (black), I am not sure if there is a prompt to choose yes or no. I only press the up/down keys and ok by guess. No success. The cam always create the folder "DCIM" and "MISC" whenever I delete them. Seems my key press doesn't work.
 
OP
Tobi@s

Tobi@s

Well-Known Member
App Developer
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
1,376
Reaction score
842
Location
Remote
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
none
Probably the buttons are mapped different
 

hackit

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Country
Canada
ok, I will try to assume diff combination of key press. Got to take sometime to test them all out. Will post result later. Thx.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top