Parking Mode Problem

PatB

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
Hi all,
Pat here.
I purchased a 522gw, a rear window camera, a 64G Nextbase sd card and a hardwire kit on the 16th Sept 2019.

It is installed and wired to a permanent live feed. I am a professional mechanic by trade so I know its installed correctly.

My problem is that when parked the camera films a protected clip 30 seconds long every 5 min throughout the parking time,
I have even tried parking in my workshop overnight to ensure no outside influence and still the same problem.

I exchanged the 522gw and the GPS mount in Halfords on the 25th Sept 2019 for another new unit but still the problem exists.
both cameras are running 16.3 firmware.

I fear I am going to have to return this unit also and buy another make of camera, I am very disapointed with the camera as the price should warrant a top quality item.

Please advise me further.

I have attached a screenshot of a small portion of the saved files, you will see it is not random timings its almost exactly every 5 min.

Pat.

Last edited:
I have been in touch with Nextbase support today, they recommend trying different methods of powering the camera so it is now connected direct to the battery of my car as opposed to a permanent live fuse.
If that doesnt work then the next thing to try will be cigar lighter lead connected to permanent live socket instead of hardwire kit .
Wish me luck.
I will report any news.
Pat.

Last edited:
1st test, direct hardwire kit to battery is a fail:(
Still awaking every 5 min to record a 30 sec clip.

Attachments

• Screenshot (2).png
    Screenshot (2).png
    239.2 KB · Views: 8
I would try connecting it to well, cigarette lighter(without permanent connection), or hardwiring it to something not permanent, like something that comes on with the ignition.