SGGCX2PRO+ beta firmware

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
48,710
Reaction score
26,994
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Release version http://bit.ly/SGGCX2PROplusFirmwareV1-29

Thread will be updated when newer beta available

Note that using beta firmware will NOT void your warranty, links to previous release versions are included in the notes should you want to roll back

Release notes attached
 
Last edited:

DT MI

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
5,579
Reaction score
4,474
Location
Michigan
Country
United States
Dash Cam
More than my wife thinks I need.
While on the subject of F/W updates I have a couple of 'wish list' items.

1 - When doing an 'in camera' format of the SD card would it be possible to retain the volume label that's on the card rather than resetting it to a default value? I have multiple cards and use the label as a means of keeping track of them and in which cameras they're being used. Not a big deal but would be a 'nice to have' thing.

2 - Probably not at all possible but is there any chance that some/all the user settings could be preserved when doing a F/W update? Again, not a big deal but a nice to have.
 
OP
jokiin

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
48,710
Reaction score
26,994
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Not sure it would even be possible to retain the volume label when formatting like you can when doing a quick format in a PC

Retaining the settings isn't something we can do with the current way the firmware/hardware is done, we do have another method to quickly load user settings but still testing that at the moment
 

TheTonyAnderson

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
13
Location
Orange Park, FL
Country
United States
Dash Cam
SGGC2XPRO
I don't know if it's already been mentioned elsewhere, but I noticed that the directional indicators (^v) at the bottom of the menu are no longer accurate. To go up or down through the menu, we press the 2 buttons on the right. However, the indicators now show that you are to use the 2nd button to go up and the 4th button to go down. I haven't updated since 1.17, so I don't know when this popped up.
 
OP
jokiin

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
48,710
Reaction score
26,994
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
I'll try to get a picture of it if it helps.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
I just rolled back to the release version, it was different, but it wasn't above the corresponding buttons either, in saying that though I'll have a look at changing the layout and adjusting them to match the buttons so it's more obvious, thanks for the feedback :)
 

TheTonyAnderson

New Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
13
Location
Orange Park, FL
Country
United States
Dash Cam
SGGC2XPRO
I just rolled back to the release version, it was different, but it wasn't above the corresponding buttons either, in saying that though I'll have a look at changing the layout and adjusting them to match the buttons so it's more obvious, thanks for the feedback :)
Sounds good. Thanks for the quick response.
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
11,429
Reaction score
7,769
Location
Carson City, Nevada (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
Last edited:

alexsoll

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Apr 14, 2013
Messages
1,750
Reaction score
1,491
Location
Minsk
Country
Belarus
Dash Cam
Street Guardian, BlackVue, TrendVision

spytek

New Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2017
Messages
11
Reaction score
7
Location
Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Street Guardian SGGCX2PRO+
Hello all ... first time poster here. I bought the SGGCX2PRO+ a few weeks back and absolutely love it. I have owned 3 other dashcams and this one blows all the others away (even my Opia2).

My question is ... does anyone have an update on the V.1-23 beta firmware? Has there been any issues with it? I was thinking about trying it out.

Thanks in advance!
 

kamkar1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
23,736
Reaction score
13,236
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
No SG firmware's are pretty safe to use, they have been around the block with the boss and a few others before we get to give them a spin too, i also think it said somewhere that beta firmware's do not void warranty or something to that degree.
Just be sure to follow the included "how to" install a new firmware.
 
Last edited:
Top