VIOFO A119 V3

Falsificator

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
502
Reaction score
737
Location
Kaliningrad, Russia
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
Ambarella A2-5-7-12...

Kremmen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
1,118
Reaction score
385
Location
West London & Reading
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Viofo A119 V3
Thanks

I'm impressed with the before and after, the clarity, especially the washed out v clear clouds in daytime.
 

Falsificator

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
502
Reaction score
737
Location
Kaliningrad, Russia
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
Ambarella A2-5-7-12...
I'm impressed with the before and after, the clarity, especially the washed out v clear clouds in daytime.
The parameters of contrast, gamma and black level are more or less worked out. Now the task is to achieve maximum detail.
There will be more feedback with the original video and screenshots of key frames, then we will achieve a positive result faster...
 

Kremmen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
1,118
Reaction score
385
Location
West London & Reading
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Viofo A119 V3
In my experience you always get motion blur, it's a tiny dashcam not a studio quality mega-cam, horses for courses.

In the grand scheme of things though my V3 is way better than my old Nextbase 380, that produced illegible number plates of vehicles overtaking, same direction.
 

vvs49

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
227
Reaction score
118
Country
Ukraine
What is the issue with the images? Do you mean the motion blur of the license plates?
Double objects
So this is mod firmware
By default - it is impossible to use.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

viofu

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
10
Location
Germany
Country
Germany
I strongly assume that this is motion blur. You can counter this effect by shorter exposure (so the moving object does not move noticeable during exposure). If the image then gets too dark, the sensitivity (ISO) needs to be increased. This results in worse image quality as a consequence. So it's a tradeoff.
 

vvs49

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
227
Reaction score
118
Country
Ukraine
I strongly assume that this is motion blur.
there is no blur, there is a bifurcation!!
As you can see here everything is OK


In the new firmware, without HDR, everything is fine!

Okay, I think they’ll do it right.
 
Last edited:

viofu

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
10
Location
Germany
Country
Germany
What do you mean with "bifurcation" - I don't know this term in this context, only from fingerprint analysis :)
 

Nigel

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
10,951
Reaction score
5,659
Location
Devon
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Gitup F1, A129, B1W, B2W
What do you mean with "bifurcation" - I don't know this term in this context, only from fingerprint analysis :)
There are two separate exposures visible in each frame, but no motion blur.

This is to be expected with multi-exposure HDR, but it would be better if there wasn't a big time gap between the exposures, and given that the first exposure had enough light for the plates, there was no need to add the second exposure into the image in that area, only needs adding in areas where there was not enough light in the first exposure.
 

relu

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2018
Messages
75
Reaction score
27
Country
Romania
Hard but not impossible. A very good exemple is A119s where HDR ( WDR ) works flawlessly.
Anyway regarding A119 V3 only Novatek can do that
 
Last edited:

relu

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2018
Messages
75
Reaction score
27
Country
Romania
A119 V3 use also WDR and not HDR. Both of them works on the dark and bright details to be clear under the high-contrasted light condition. WDR is hardware and HDR software. For this reason ( 119V3 use WDR ) we can do nothing, only Novatek can do.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
49,066
Reaction score
27,324
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
A119 V3 use also WDR and not HDR. Both of them works on the dark and bright details to be clear under the high-contrasted light condition. WDR is hardware and HDR software. For this reason ( 119V3 use WDR ) we can do nothing, only Novatek can do.
IMX 335 supports HDR, not WDR
 
Top