YiMAX-PRO script.

moozes

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
5
Likes
3
Country
Finland
#81
Hi. I've just got my Yi upgraded to 1.5.12 and seems like the 1.5.6 scripts don't work.

Seems like nobody has written anything about 1.5.12 yet, so here I go.

What I was able to get from comparing the 1.5.6 and 1.5.12 firmwares was the following on 1.5.12 firmware (Z25L hw rev):

For 1080p60 40mbit, ABR, 0.75-1.25 range

writeb 0xC05CBEDC 0x05
writew 0xC05CBEE2 0x4220
writel 0xC05CBEB4 0x3f400000
writel 0xC05CBEB8 0x3fa00000

seems like the memory addresses have shifted a bit, 1.5.6 ones were
writeb 0xC05C8EDC 0x05
writew 0xC05C8EE2 0x4220
writel 0xC05C8EE4 0x3f400000
writel 0xC05C8EE8 0x3fa00000

I'm still wondering that the following line in the yimax script actually does since it's different in the 1080p60 and 1296p30 scripts (in the latter one the data written is 0x02):
writeb 0xC06D4426 0x03

anyone care explain what is the purpose of that line in the scripts?

Also it seems that the 4Gb filesize limit does not work. Will have to try and investigate that a bit further as well.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
5
Likes
0
Country
Romania
#82
Hi. I've just got my Yi upgraded to 1.5.12 and seems like the 1.5.6 scripts don't work.

Seems like nobody has written anything about 1.5.12 yet, so here I go.

What I was able to get from comparing the 1.5.6 and 1.5.12 firmwares was the following on 1.5.12 firmware (Z25L hw rev):

For 1080p60 40mbit, ABR, 0.75-1.25 range

writeb 0xC05CBEDC 0x05
writew 0xC05CBEE2 0x4220
writel 0xC05CBEB4 0x3f400000
writel 0xC05CBEB8 0x3fa00000

seems like the memory addresses have shifted a bit, 1.5.6 ones were
writeb 0xC05C8EDC 0x05
writew 0xC05C8EE2 0x4220
writel 0xC05C8EE4 0x3f400000
writel 0xC05C8EE8 0x3fa00000

I'm still wondering that the following line in the yimax script actually does since it's different in the 1080p60 and 1296p30 scripts (in the latter one the data written is 0x02):
writeb 0xC06D4426 0x03

anyone care explain what is the purpose of that line in the scripts?

Also it seems that the 4Gb filesize limit does not work. Will have to try and investigate that a bit further as well.
Hi moozes! Thank you for taking time to figure out the 1.5.12 firmware. I have a yi z23L with this firmware and I just want to increase the bitrate to 35 mbs so grass and foliage will not get so compressed. Could you help me with scripts for 1080p 30fps, 24 and 60 with 35 mbs birate (everything else same as stock)?
 

moozes

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
5
Likes
3
Country
Finland
#83
Hi moozes! Thank you for taking time to figure out the 1.5.12 firmware. I have a yi z23L with this firmware and I just want to increase the bitrate to 35 mbs so grass and foliage will not get so compressed. Could you help me with scripts for 1080p 30fps, 24 and 60 with 35 mbs birate (everything else same as stock)?
Hello Andrei!

What I posted was for 1.5.12 1080p60 video mode albeit 40mbit/s. If you just want to get the bitrate amped up to 35mbit and everything else stock then the below should work for 1080p60 (35mbit -> 0x420C instead of 0x4220 for 40mbit).

#1080p60 35mbit ABR
writeb 0xC05CBEDC 0x05
writew 0xC05CBEE2 0x420C
writel 0xC05CBEB4 0x3f400000
writel 0xC05CBEB8 0x3fa00000

Also this works for 1296p30 35mbit bitrate:
#1296p30 35mbit ABR
writeb 0xC05CBEAC 0x05
writew 0xC05CBEB2 0x420c
writel 0xC05CBEB4 0x3f400000
writel 0xC05CBEB8 0x3fa00000

If somebody has the offsets for 1080p30 and 24 from fw 1.5.6 i think I could get the rest figured out for you by comparing the 1.5.12 and 1.5.6 firmwares.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
5
Likes
0
Country
Romania
#84
Hello Andrei!

What I posted was for 1.5.12 1080p60 video mode albeit 40mbit/s. If you just want to get the bitrate amped up to 35mbit and everything else stock then the below should work for 1080p60 (35mbit -> 0x420C instead of 0x4220 for 40mbit).

#1080p60 35mbit ABR
writeb 0xC05CBEDC 0x05
writew 0xC05CBEE2 0x420C
writel 0xC05CBEB4 0x3f400000
writel 0xC05CBEB8 0x3fa00000

Also this works for 1296p30 35mbit bitrate:
#1296p30 35mbit ABR
writeb 0xC05CBEAC 0x05
writew 0xC05CBEB2 0x420c
writel 0xC05CBEB4 0x3f400000
writel 0xC05CBEB8 0x3fa00000

If somebody has the offsets for 1080p30 and 24 from fw 1.5.6 i think I could get the rest figured out for you by comparing the 1.5.12 and 1.5.6 firmwares.
Hi moozes!
Thank you for your time in writing this but unfortunatly it does not work. I managed to safely downgrade to 1.2.10 and now I use the YIMAX Movie script and WOW!!! what a difference it makes in both video and photo. The raw files are just great for photos, I atached here some samples. I just wish that somehow the YMAX Pro script and YIMAX Movie script will someday be available to the 1.5.12 firmware.




 
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
5
Likes
0
Country
Romania
#86
This job can't be done by itself...
Hi nutsey,
Yes, of course, please don't get upset. I apologize if I upset you. I want to thank you for transforming our little cameras into something great. Your work is greatly appreciated. Unfortunately I don't have the necessary skills to help figure it out how to port them but what I did was get in touch with the YI cam support and tried to convince them to make raw support and higher bitrates officially suported. I don't know if I will succede but I read somewhere that they plan to release an open API for developers so hope is not lost.
 

moozes

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
5
Likes
3
Country
Finland
#87
Hi moozes!
Thank you for your time in writing this but unfortunatly it does not work. I managed to safely downgrade to 1.2.10 and now I use the YIMAX Movie script and WOW!!! what a difference it makes in both video and photo. The raw files are just great for photos, I atached here some samples. I just wish that somehow the YMAX Pro script and YIMAX Movie script will someday be available to the 1.5.12 firmware.




Hello. Unfortunate to hear that this did not work for you.

I know for a fact that it works on my cam (1.5.12 hw Z25L) which makes me wonder if there is something different after all in fw 1.5.12 for Z23 and Z25 hw versions. My understanding was that the FW should be the same for both hw revisions.

One thing I noticed regarding the autoexec.ash file that there has to be an empty line in the end of the file. If you omitted that from the autoexec.ash that might be the reason it did not work. Also the file encoding has to be "Unix" instead of "Windows" which affects the line endings. If you just did create a file with notepad that will not work as well, since the encoding is wrong.

Could you try with copying the files found from the attached zip. That's what I'm running on my cam currently which affects both 1080p60 and 1296p30 video modes (40mbit ABR etc.) It has the ready beep and the wifi led blinking as in the original yimax-pro scripts so one can see if the code is running in the first place. Once again, this is working on hw z25L camera with 1.5.12 fw installed.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
5
Likes
0
Country
Romania
#88
Hello. Unfortunate to hear that this did not work for you.

I know for a fact that it works on my cam (1.5.12 hw Z25L) which makes me wonder if there is something different after all in fw 1.5.12 for Z23 and Z25 hw versions. My understanding was that the FW should be the same for both hw revisions.

One thing I noticed regarding the autoexec.ash file that there has to be an empty line in the end of the file. If you omitted that from the autoexec.ash that might be the reason it did not work. Also the file encoding has to be "Unix" instead of "Windows" which affects the line endings. If you just did create a file with notepad that will not work as well, since the encoding is wrong.

Could you try with copying the files found from the attached zip. That's what I'm running on my cam currently which affects both 1080p60 and 1296p30 video modes (40mbit ABR etc.) It has the ready beep and the wifi led blinking as in the original yimax-pro scripts so one can see if the code is running in the first place. Once again, this is working on hw z25L camera with 1.5.12 fw installed.
Hi moozes. I can confirm that it works. I made a short clip that has the 40 mbs and the second one got to 32 mbs (I don't know why). Is this script actually a full port of the YMAX Pro?
 

moozes

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
5
Likes
3
Country
Finland
#89
Hi moozes. I can confirm that it works. I made a short clip that has the 40 mbs and the second one got to 32 mbs (I don't know why). Is this script actually a full port of the YMAX Pro?
Hello again. Sorry for taking so long to answer. I think it mostly has all the stuff that the original yimax-pro has. One thing I changed was to comment out the gamma setting by adding a "#" in front of the line with "t ia2 -adj gamma 160". I've now removed the "#" from the line since I noticed that I got way burnt out sky on my latest videos without the gamma adjustment.

What I'm still wondering about is one line in both 1296p30 and 1080p60 original yimax-pro scripts and what it does. I don't have that in my autoexec.ash at all currently.

In the original yimax-pro script:
1080p60: writeb 0xC06D4426 0x03
1296p30: writeb 0xC06D4426 0x02

It's the same memory address on both. Could @nutsey perhaps shed some light on what that line is doing in the scripts? If I've understood correctly by extracting the PRI partition of the 1.5.6 and 1.5.12 firmware there is no data in that memory address at all by default. Might be wrong though.
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
nutsey

nutsey

Active Member
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
333
Likes
150
Country
Turkey
#90
In the original yimax-pro script:
1080p60: writeb 0xC06D4426 0x03
1296p30: writeb 0xC06D4426 0x02
These commands are outdated as they were needed to set up 1296p30 video mode as it was not available to choose from the app. I know I should rewrite some stuff :)
 

moozes

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
5
Likes
3
Country
Finland
#91
These commands are outdated as they were needed to set up 1296p30 video mode as it was not available to choose from the app. I know I should rewrite some stuff :)
Ok. So this means that my modified script should have everything working for both 1296p30 and 1080p60 on FW 1.5.12. Attached is the script with all the features included in the original yimax-pro scripts enabled which has both 1296p30 and 1080p60 modes in the same script. :)

Edit: And thanks for the answer @nutsey
Quick additional Edit: Filesize limit is still 1.9Gb in my scripts. This is due to not having enough time yet to figure out where the memory address for that setting lies in the 1.5.12 FW. Otherwise this has all the stuff that the original two YIMAX-PRO scripts have.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

TwoBlues

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2016
Messages
1,302
Likes
202
Location
Eastern Shore, Md.
Country
United States
#92
Moozes:
Good work! I tested your file filming at one minute 20 seconds with 1.5.12 fw and with your changes. The MB rate increased from 149 to 430 and the Wifi blinks, but the beep for starting /stopping video/photo is gone!
Thanks for your work!
Update , when the camera ,Z231..., is connected to my Android tablet all beeps function, including "find camera", then stop functioning when I turned off the tab.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 7, 2016
Messages
4
Likes
0
Country
France
#93
Hello there !

i have a question, if nutsey or someone else can answer :

I have the yimax pro script, and it's good !

I opened the script with notepad++, and there is :

#HSV, shadow/highlight clipping, gamma, NR adjustments:
t ia2 -adj ev 10 -1 70 -1 -1 150 -1
t ia2 -adj l_expo 163
t ia2 -adj autoknee 255
t ia2 -adj gamma 160
t ia2 -adj tidx -1 0 -1

Can someone tell me what does all mean ? if i'm changing adj ev, what does it change ? If i change tidx, what will happen ? Just want to know what does all these word means to maybe change myself the script and have a script as i want me to see it.

Thanks !
 
OP
OP
nutsey

nutsey

Active Member
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
333
Likes
150
Country
Turkey
#94
HSV = hue, saturation, vibrance
shadow/highlight clipping = details on darks/lights
gamma = gamma :)
NR = noise reduction
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2016
Messages
4
Likes
0
Country
France
#95
Thank you nutsey

Saturation vibrance got it, but what is hue ? (english is not my primary language, so sometimes i don't understand some things.)
For shadow/highlight, if = 0 it's darker and if it's 255 it's lighter ?
And for the noise reduction, how does it works ? if i have 0 or 500 or 1000, what will be the difference ? (i know what is noise reduction, but just want to know the difference with some number.)

Thanks !
 

geozigo

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2017
Messages
1
Likes
0
Country
Greece
#96
I just want to thank you all guys for bringing this amazing staff!!!! I using a Z23L camera with 1.5.6 firmware. I am running yimax-pro-1-5-6-z22L and this a test run
.
Camera is set to PAL so video rez is 2304x1296@25fps. The only problem I am facing is that sometimes camera is creating a 3 sec video with 40-45Mbit bitrate and after that it creates a second clip with 32Mbit bitrate.
Is this normal?Am I pushing the record button to fast and the script is not properly set?When I am connected to App and hit the rec button sometimes after 3 sec I see low capacity warning and the camera proceeds to write the clip with lower bitrate and a bit more saturation. Just now I discovered (it happend 3 times in a row) that when I set(within the app) and record a first clip with other resolution (720p@100fps for example) and then set 2K@25fps and record the second clip is perfect 40Mbits.....wierd...
 
Last edited:

vegetaleb

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
9
Likes
1
Country
Lebanon
#97
Ok. So this means that my modified script should have everything working for both 1296p30 and 1080p60 on FW 1.5.12. Attached is the script with all the features included in the original yimax-pro scripts enabled which has both 1296p30 and 1080p60 modes in the same script. :)

Edit: And thanks for the answer @nutsey
Quick additional Edit: Filesize limit is still 1.9Gb in my scripts. This is due to not having enough time yet to figure out where the memory address for that setting lies in the 1.5.12 FW. Otherwise this has all the stuff that the original two YIMAX-PRO scripts have.
I have put the files in SD root, it worked the 1st time but now everytime I take a photo from the smartphone it disconnect the Wifi.
Edit: Clear app cash and restarted, now it's woking again, though when not using the smartphone I don't know when it's taking a photo, some time the LED blink once, sometimes it turn red, does a bip sound and no photo
 
Last edited:

vegetaleb

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
9
Likes
1
Country
Lebanon
#98
Sorry for my being noob again, everything works fine (RAW and 40mb/s) but I have a little problem with the Yi app since I used this script, if I take a video 1080p@60 then I take a photo, the camera button (on the smartphone) will stay red for 20 seconds then the app will disconnect from the camera, I have to clear cash the app in the S8 settings so it works again, but if I take again a video then a photo it will do the same bug.

@geozigo I think your problem is due to a ''slow'' SD card, my sandisk Ultra could not handle even 20mb/s and it began to do small clips with different bitrates, since I am using the Extreme Plus I can take long videos at 40mb/s without any split unless it's the known Yi limits of 2gb
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
nutsey

nutsey

Active Member
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
333
Likes
150
Country
Turkey
#99
@vegetaleb Hi, YiMAX-PRO script was not intended to use in mixed video/photo mode. So there might be some problems with it.
 

vegetaleb

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2017
Messages
9
Likes
1
Country
Lebanon
@vegetaleb Hi, YiMAX-PRO script was not intended to use in mixed video/photo mode. So there might be some problems with it.
Thanks!
I won't take many photos anyway but it would have been great to have both RAW photos and high video bitrate.
Do you think the paid app ''Yi Pro'' will be more stable or it will have the same photos bugs as it uses scripts too?
 
Top