Blueskysea B1W dashcam

Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
3
Likes
0
Country
United States
Do I need a voltage cutoff for my hard wire kit? I only drive my car a couple times a week and I'm worried that the hard wire kit suggested by estore009 will deplete my car battery.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
1,853
Likes
743
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo
Do you want the camera to turn on and off with the car? If you do, then you don't need a voltage cut-off. Just wire the kit into an accessory fuse (shuts off with the ignition).
 
Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
3
Likes
0
Country
United States
Do you want the camera to turn on and off with the car? If you do, then you don't need a voltage cut-off. Just wire the kit into an accessory fuse (shuts off with the ignition).
No, I want to take advantage of the parking mode. estore009 recommended this kit:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/131229994547
If the parking mode is continually running, I'll probably go with a power magic pro
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
76
Likes
51
Location
Pomorie, Bulgaria
Country
Bulgaria
Dash Cam
K6000, G1WH, G1WC, B1W
Last edited:

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
1,853
Likes
743
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
37,603
Likes
19,206
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
I wouldn't get that one if you want to use parking mode. The voltage cut-off on these basic kits are usually too low <12V.
aside from that they also don't have very stable output, the voltage can fluctuate a lot, to the point where it will kill some cameras
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
76
Likes
51
Location
Pomorie, Bulgaria
Country
Bulgaria
Dash Cam
K6000, G1WH, G1WC, B1W
I have been searching but can anyone tell me the INPUT voltage of the B1W dashcam? Is it 5v or 12v?
I am thinking it is 5v but the reason I ask is because I was looking at hard wire kits.
I have read the Power Magic Pro has an output of between 12v to 24v - or am I incorrect?
Power Magic Pro manual
whereas this hard wire adapter has a an output of 5v.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
76
Likes
51
Location
Pomorie, Bulgaria
Country
Bulgaria
Dash Cam
K6000, G1WH, G1WC, B1W
I am currently using a hard wire adapter similar this. This is the hard wire adapter I used with my G1WC camera and is rated as 5v output.
It has a mini USB but I have purchased one of these USB adapters to convert it to micro USB suitable for my B1W and this works very well.
So, I am assuming the B1W camera has an input voltage of 5v not 12v
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
76
Likes
51
Location
Pomorie, Bulgaria
Country
Bulgaria
Dash Cam
K6000, G1WH, G1WC, B1W
USB powered cameras are 5V
Yes, this is what I thought, but the control box output of the Power Magic Pro is between 12 and 24v therefore the female cigarette socket must have a voltage reducer from 12/24v to 5v - but the male cigarette plug adapter that comes with the B1W camera also has a voltage reducer to 5v.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
37,603
Likes
19,206
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Yes, this is what I thought, but the control box output of the Power Magic Pro is between 12 and 24v therefore the female cigarette socket must have a voltage reducer from 12/24v to 5v - but the male cigarette plug adapter that comes with the B1W camera also has a voltage reducer to 5v.
the power magic pro just outputs whatever it sees on the input, 24v in = 24v out, 12v in = 12v out, there is no voltage conversion, it's just power management for low voltage and timer, the cig plug adapter of whatever camera you're using has the step down voltage circuitry and plugs into the female lighter socket on the PMP
 

Similar threads