VIOFO A119 V3

BCHobbyist

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
2,208
Location
Vancouver
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
A129Duo-8Wi A119Pro-9Tm A119S-6Vk A119V3 GitUp G3+F1 DCTeam
On any firmware, but rarely, there is no system.
post photo with camera opened showing the position of copper shield, yellow layer, ribbon cables and supercapacitors.
 

BCHobbyist

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
2,208
Location
Vancouver
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
A129Duo-8Wi A119Pro-9Tm A119S-6Vk A119V3 GitUp G3+F1 DCTeam
I don't understand, this?
looks the same as my V3
wanted to confirm corner GPS ribbon cable was not crimped on screw and main lens sensor was still taped with RTC battery not touching the copper shield.
suggest you carefully remove the tape from sensor cable ends then reattach both ends fully into locking connector so it ends up looking like this
(why they still run the speaker wire over the processor area is unknown)
47355
Viofo A119 V3 Dash Cam : https://viofo-a119-v3-dash-camera-review.blogspot.com/
 
Last edited:

vvs49

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
197
Reaction score
63
Country
Ukraine
suggest you carefully remove the tape from sensor cable ends then reattach both ends fully into locking connector so it ends up looking like this
OK
Tomorrow I'll check.
Thank.
 

djxpress

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
Country
United States
Savvy dashcam buyers know to wait a few months before purchasing new models, allowing time for kinks, bugs, flaws to be identified and fixed.
Many aren't aware Viofo is about to release another new dashcam model with >stable< 4-clip GPS mount, not the unstable single clip 2016 design. The new A129 Pro has 4K resolution allowing the owner to select 4K or 2K or 1080p and supports optional Rear camera with improved WiFi control. Hopefully the extended Alpha testing phase currently underway solves the brightness issue most 4K sensors have in lower light conditions. I know exactly which offset code to MOD first. The A119/P/S V2 model days are numbered, all Hail the A129 (y)
Any idea when the A129 Pro will be out? I did see the bulk order listing on Viofo's website: https://viofo.manufacturer.globalsources.com/si/6008844217375/pdtl/Dash-camera/1166620505/4k-dash-cam.htm
 

BCHobbyist

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
2,208
Location
Vancouver
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
A129Duo-8Wi A119Pro-9Tm A119S-6Vk A119V3 GitUp G3+F1 DCTeam
Any idea when the A129 Pro will be out? I did see the bulk order listing on Viofo's website: https://viofo.manufacturer.globalsources.com/si/6008844217375/pdtl/Dash-camera/1166620505/4k-dash-cam.htm
wild guess - given recently discovered issues with advanced parking mode the Pro model will probably be held back until late August or longer.
Extending Beta testing duration for flagship model makes more sense than to release early if issues are found by end user.
 

BlackRose67

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
35
Reaction score
4
Location
Ottawa
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Blueskysea B1W
Is there a summary of the advanced parking mode issue?
 

Chris Hunt

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 5, 2015
Messages
284
Reaction score
209
Location
Sydney
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
VIOFO..DOD..
Sent an email to VIOFO Australia for when A119 V3 will be available in Australia and RRP

Reply - 2 weeks and AU$179
Sounds about right...mine are due next Thusrday..all going well with customs....
 

BCHobbyist

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
2,208
Location
Vancouver
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
A129Duo-8Wi A119Pro-9Tm A119S-6Vk A119V3 GitUp G3+F1 DCTeam
Already a system.
good to see V3 isn't dead.
did reconnecting the sensor ribbon cable revive V3 ? or was copper shield shorting out on RTC battery ? or was thin yellow GPS cable the cause ?

V3 startup looks slow in vehicle when powered using custom AV out cable.
repeat vehicle startup using standard miniUSB cable to socket adapter.
on workbench power drain doesn't look normal.
 

vvs49

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
197
Reaction score
63
Country
Ukraine
did reconnecting the sensor ribbon cable revive V3 ? or was copper shield shorting out on RTC battery ? or was thin yellow GPS cable the cause ?

V3 startup looks slow in vehicle when powered using custom AV out cable.
on workbench power drain doesn't look normal.
I haven't checked yet

This I slowed down the movie for clarity.
Five seconds and V3 in work.

Exactly
 
Last edited:

vvs49

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
197
Reaction score
63
Country
Ukraine
I looked installation, everything is OK there.
I am inclined to believe that the firmware is to blame, why there is never any problem connecting to the USB?

If you enable the 265 codec, 4K resolution appears in the menu
3840x2160_24fps

The truth works terribly, the movie is jerking and the numbers are crawling on each other.
 

Tractor

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
350
Reaction score
310
Location
Dover, Kent
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
DCTeam A119 V3 - A119 V2 X 2 - GitUp G3 Duo - Yi DashCam
The 4K option is a known problem. Why Viofo do not say it is 4K.
 

BCHobbyist

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
2,208
Location
Vancouver
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
A129Duo-8Wi A119Pro-9Tm A119S-6Vk A119V3 GitUp G3+F1 DCTeam
I looked installation, everything is OK there.
I am inclined to believe that the firmware is to blame, why there is never any problem connecting to the USB?
If you enable the 265 codec, 4K resolution appears in the menu
3840x2160_24fps
The truth works terribly, the movie is jerking and the numbers are crawling on each other.
Does the V3 GPS mount cause random startup issues when power cable is connected to mount ?
What happens when running A119 V3 with GPS Menu setting disabled ? works normally ?
 

vvs49

Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
197
Reaction score
63
Country
Ukraine
What happens when running A119 V3 with GPS Menu setting disabled ? works normally ?
So I showed in the film, at home without GPS
The result is the same and does not depend on the method of connection !!

why there is never any problem connecting to the USB?


P. S.
BCHobbyist!!
Badly understood, do you mean GPS in the menu or hardware?
 
Last edited:

BCHobbyist

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
1,559
Reaction score
2,208
Location
Vancouver
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
A129Duo-8Wi A119Pro-9Tm A119S-6Vk A119V3 GitUp G3+F1 DCTeam
So I showed in the film, at home without GPS
The result is the same and does not depend on the method of connection !!
why there is never any problem connecting to the USB?
P. S. BCHobbyist!!
Badly understood, do you mean GPS in the menu or hardware?
since the V3 has new GPS chip more testing is needed.
you confirmed power connection to GPS mount and side connector make no difference, but what happens when turn OFF GPS in Menu Settings firmware ?
 

Similar threads


Top