A129 3-wire kit

CarecaIII

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
Italy
I would say ALIM UCH goes to Battery+ and the Key sign goes to ACC. The fuses that come from VIOFO are 5 Amps

Hello. Thanks for the reply.
I also found the description of the fuse box, can you take a look?
Confirm the two fuses you indicated to me?

Also on acc you must install a 5A fuse?

Thank you.
 

bodycount28

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2018
Messages
67
Reaction score
44
Location
Southern California
Country
United States
So, a couple of weeks in and when in position ‘0’ for over 12 or so hours the camera does not restart automatically. There is a 10s boot delay selected and there are no other issues with the camera.

If I flick the switch from ‘0’ to ‘1’ before or after I restart the engine then the camera still won’t switch on unless I physically press the power button on the camera.
For me, the cam will consistently power on if switch to '1' prior to starting the engine, I'm also on 10s boot delay. What voltage setting have you selected on the HWK? I'm set to 12.2v.

One thing I have noticed is that if I start the engine for a minute, stop it and then start it again then it will spring into action. I’m no auto electrician so I have no idea what that means but perhaps someone else will.
My guess is that the engine will need to draw more power when sitting overnight or from a 'cold' start vs restarting the engine throughout the day after shorter rests when engine is still somewhat 'warm'.
 

Jonro2009

Active Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
101
Reaction score
57
For me, the cam will consistently power on if switch to '1' prior to starting the engine, I'm also on 10s boot delay. What voltage setting have you selected on the HWK? I'm set to 12.2v.


My guess is that the engine will need to draw more power when sitting overnight or from a 'cold' start vs restarting the engine throughout the day after shorter rests when engine is still somewhat 'warm'.
So today the camera restarted after an 8hr shift in temps of -6.

The voltage cutoff is set to 12v at present. I will be looking after my battery by using a smart charger on the battery weekly.

How does your camera behave at switch position ‘1’? At this position on my switch the camera is running off Bat+ and uses parking mode. At position ‘0’ it is only relying on the ACC feed.

Picture is the witch on the trim by the drivers left knee

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

 

bodycount28

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2018
Messages
67
Reaction score
44
Location
Southern California
Country
United States
How does your camera behave at switch position ‘1’? At this position on my switch the camera is running off Bat+ and uses parking mode. At position ‘0’ it is only relying on the ACC feed.
My switch functions and is setup the same way where:

0 = ACC only (cam off when ignition off)
1 = BAT+ (Parking Mode)

I have no issues when switch = 1. Cam stays on all the time and transitions between normal and parking modes as expected.
If switch = 0, I need to switch to 1 prior to starting engine in order for cam to power on consistently. Otherwise it's hit and miss, similar to what you've been experiencing.

Picture is the witch on the trim by the drivers left knee
Nice clean install! (y) :giggle: Hopefully you're not accidentally hitting switch with knee...
 

Jonro2009

Active Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
101
Reaction score
57
My switch functions and is setup the same way where:

0 = ACC only (cam off when ignition off)
1 = BAT+ (Parking Mode)

I have no issues when switch = 1. Cam stays on all the time and transitions between normal and parking modes as expected.
If switch = 0, I need to switch to 1 prior to starting engine in order for cam to power on consistently. Otherwise it's hit and miss, similar to what you've been experiencing.



Nice clean install! (y) :giggle: Hopefully you're not accidentally hitting switch with knee...
I flicked the switch to '1' prior to starting the car this morning. It worked fine so perhaps the only answer.

The switch is quite stiff so my knee should be ok, probably lol

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
 

CarecaIII

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
Italy
Hello. Do not just put a switch on Bat+?
Leaving it on will always activate the parking mode;
on off the camera turns off if one does not want the active parking mode.

Or is there any reason why it should not work? Thank you.
 

Jonro2009

Active Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2014
Messages
101
Reaction score
57
Hello. Do not just put a switch on Bat+?
Leaving it on will always activate the parking mode;
on off the camera turns off if one does not want the active parking mode.

Or is there any reason why it should not work? Thank you.

That would work in a sense. If you did the switch this way then you would always have to flick the switch to the ‘ON’ position when you started the car no matter what mode you wanted.

So if you had the switch off when parked up (no parking mode) you would need to turn it on again when you get back in or the camera would not work when you switched the ignition on. The camera must have both BAT+ and ACC feed to work which is why you need the 3 pole switch.

I know that it seems we are having to flick the switch anyway at the moment but hopefully one of us will find a solution to this problem.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

kioneo

New Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
24
Reaction score
23
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DCTEAM, A129 Duo
I know that it seems we are having to flick the switch anyway at the moment but hopefully one of us will find a solution to this problem.
See https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/a129-3-wire-kit.35898/page-13#post-447344.

I think you are running into the same problem I had. Basically "for the kit to function properly, the hardwire kit must see power on B+ before power on the ACC line." If you have yours wired up like I did in the past, then ACC and B+ receive power at the same time, and the camera never boots. I found there are probably two ways to fix this:

1) Wire up so that in your "no parking mode" switch setting, you get power from a circuit that goes hot before ACC. For me, there are a few circuits that turn on when the car is unlocked (before ACC) and turn off a little bit after the car stops (after ACC). I chose this option.

2) Wire up a timer on the "no parking mode" switch line so that B+ power is effectively delayed to the hardwire kit by about 5 seconds or so. Don't confuse this with the bootup delay in the camera, these are two different things. It's probably a matter of an RC circuit or something, but I'm not an electronics expert and I don't know how this would be accomplished exactly. Perhaps others can share how :)
 

DarthMaul

Active Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
145
Reaction score
108
Location
Brno
Country
Czech Republic
Dash Cam
DCTeam, VIOFO A129 Duo
I finally got my kit installed on my Civic. It works as advertised. The dealer set the under voltage cut-off protection to 12.8V just to be on the safe side. We'll see how much recording time will that give to the camera.
I set the parking mode to Low Bit rate recording. The gap between parking and normal mode seems to be about 7 to 8 seconds, which is not a big deal. There is no weird static noise with my kit as other users reported.
Can't wait for the buffered parking mode firmware to be released! :)
 
Last edited:

Svek

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
3
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Viofo A129 Duo
See https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/a129-3-wire-kit.35898/page-13#post-447344.

I think you are running into the same problem I had. Basically "for the kit to function properly, the hardwire kit must see power on B+ before power on the ACC line." If you have yours wired up like I did in the past, then ACC and B+ receive power at the same time, and the camera never boots. I found there are probably two ways to fix this:

1) Wire up so that in your "no parking mode" switch setting, you get power from a circuit that goes hot before ACC. For me, there are a few circuits that turn on when the car is unlocked (before ACC) and turn off a little bit after the car stops (after ACC). I chose this option.

2) Wire up a timer on the "no parking mode" switch line so that B+ power is effectively delayed to the hardwire kit by about 5 seconds or so. Don't confuse this with the bootup delay in the camera, these are two different things. It's probably a matter of an RC circuit or something, but I'm not an electronics expert and I don't know how this would be accomplished exactly. Perhaps others can share how :)
the only delay timer i found is one that comes in a kit you build, its still sitting in my boot to be put together, i do belive this will solve it but
 

Touran Daddy

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2014
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
See https://dashcamtalk.com/forum/threads/a129-3-wire-kit.35898/page-13#post-447344.

I think you are running into the same problem I had. Basically "for the kit to function properly, the hardwire kit must see power on B+ before power on the ACC line." If you have yours wired up like I did in the past, then ACC and B+ receive power at the same time, and the camera never boots. I found there are probably two ways to fix this:

1) Wire up so that in your "no parking mode" switch setting, you get power from a circuit that goes hot before ACC. For me, there are a few circuits that turn on when the car is unlocked (before ACC) and turn off a little bit after the car stops (after ACC). I chose this option.

2) Wire up a timer on the "no parking mode" switch line so that B+ power is effectively delayed to the hardwire kit by about 5 seconds or so. Don't confuse this with the bootup delay in the camera, these are two different things. It's probably a matter of an RC circuit or something, but I'm not an electronics expert and I don't know how this would be accomplished exactly. Perhaps others can share how :)
I too am suffering this issue, both lines wired into inside fuse box but camera doesn't start after over night shut down.
Need to find another solution as not really wanting to wire back to battery fuse box to keep B+ as I'm assuming my car is shutting it down?
Must be one in the box that is always live.
VW Touran 08 if anyone has one?
 

Similar threads


Top