Hardwire Problem

Jax Dash Cams

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
27
Reaction score
3
Location
Jacksonville, Florida USA
Country
United States
Dash Cam
iPhone 4 with iSYMdvr app
I have two A118 (non-capacitor) cameras in my car - one will power up with a turn of the ignition key but the other won't. I've been powering them for the past year with a dual power port (cigarette lighter style) and wires dangling around in the cabin. I wanted to clean it up so I ordered two hardwire kits (https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00MH4ZVHO) and fuse taps (https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00SUTYYS2)

I connected the red wires from both kits to the fuse tap and grounded both blacks to the frame. I plugged the fuse tap into the 12v power port slot in the fuse box.

So here's the problem: When I turn the key on, the front camera turns on; the rear does not. However, if I manually press the power button on the rear, it turns on. I don't understand... they're both wired exactly the same. Could this be an issue in the rear camera?
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,508
Reaction score
1,919
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
I have two A118 (non-capacitor) cameras in my car - one will power up with a turn of the ignition key but the other won't. I've been powering them for the past year with a dual power port (cigarette lighter style) and wires dangling around in the cabin. I wanted to clean it up so I ordered two hardwire kits (https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00MH4ZVHO) and fuse taps (https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00SUTYYS2)

I connected the red wires from both kits to the fuse tap and grounded both blacks to the frame. I plugged the fuse tap into the 12v power port slot in the fuse box.

So here's the problem: When I turn the key on, the front camera turns on; the rear does not. However, if I manually press the power button on the rear, it turns on. I don't understand... they're both wired exactly the same. Could this be an issue in the rear camera?
Try a different fuse slot for the rear camera, or try switching the two tap-a-fuses around to see if then the rear turns on but the front won't. If the front then won't turn on, it's fuse port.
 

Lola

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
1,111
Reaction score
617
Location
Maryland
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius, A119
I have two A118 (non-capacitor) cameras in my car - one will power up with a turn of the ignition key but the other won't. I've been powering them for the past year with a dual power port (cigarette lighter style) and wires dangling around in the cabin. I wanted to clean it up so I ordered two hardwire kits (https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00MH4ZVHO) and fuse taps (https://www.amazon.com/gp/B00SUTYYS2)

I connected the red wires from both kits to the fuse tap and grounded both blacks to the frame. I plugged the fuse tap into the 12v power port slot in the fuse box.

So here's the problem: When I turn the key on, the front camera turns on; the rear does not. However, if I manually press the power button on the rear, it turns on. I don't understand... they're both wired exactly the same. Could this be an issue in the rear camera?

I'm not familiar with your cameras, but are they both turned on in the software?
 
OP
Jax Dash Cams

Jax Dash Cams

New Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
27
Reaction score
3
Location
Jacksonville, Florida USA
Country
United States
Dash Cam
iPhone 4 with iSYMdvr app
Try a different fuse slot for the rear camera, or try switching the two tap-a-fuses around to see if then the rear turns on but the front won't. If the front then won't turn on, it's fuse port.

I'm only using 1 fuse tap. Both hardwire kits are wired to it. I've also put it in different fuse slots - no difference.
 

Lola

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
1,111
Reaction score
617
Location
Maryland
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius, A119
Please define "turned on in the software."

Some cameras have software (Like Mobius) where you set the options you want, do you have this type software with your cameras? I expect this is not the problem since both cameras were working before.

Another thing would be to switch the hard ware kits connection and see if the problem follows to the other camera. If the problem does follow to the other camera try switching the USB connections at the charger plug.

You should definitely have each kit on it's own circuit (add-a-circuit) not both connected to the same one. This should be the first thing you correct!

After doing these things, check the ground and make sure they are in a reliable place and properly done.
Do "one thing" at a time and "check" so you can detect what malfunction is the problem, trying to do them all at once leads to confusion.
 
Last edited:

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,508
Reaction score
1,919
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
I'm only using 1 fuse tap. Both hardwire kits are wired to it. I've also put it in different fuse slots - no difference.
Try unplugging the front camera, then start the car and see if the rear camera starts normally.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,675
Reaction score
28,781
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
switch the cables for front and rear, if the problem remains it's a camera issue, if the problem moves it's the power supply, the power supplies you bought are known for not having very stable voltage output
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,675
Reaction score
28,781
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
not as cheap as that, if you want to do it on a budget better to buy a female cig socket and wire that to your fuse taps and just plug the included power supply in
 
Top