Street Guardian SG9663DC (DC = Dual Channel)

Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
37
Likes
5
Country
United Kingdom
If there is a problem with the memory card or recording doesnt start for some reason, are there any audible alerts/warnings? My wife is not very tech savvy and probably wouldnt pay attention to the camera unless it told her to!
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
10,989
Likes
7,353
Location
Carson City, Nevada (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
If there is a problem with the memory card or recording doesnt start for some reason, are there any audible alerts/warnings? My wife is not very tech savvy and probably wouldnt pay attention to the camera unless it told her to!
Yes it will beep if there is a memory card error.
 

Gibson99

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
8,724
Likes
6,651
Location
Houston, we've had a problem, Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
(2x) A119, (2x) A118c, iTrue X3, Git1, Git2
yeah it depends on the wife. mine simply unplugged her dashcam (a119) when it started beeping incessantly. turns out she tried to hit the /!\ button but hit REC instead, making it stop recording and start beeping.

@viofo and @jokiin - maybe a good feature to add would be if someone has pressed REC and it's not recording for say... 15 seconds, and no buttons have been pressed, start recording again automatically. that would fix situations like my wife's above, and help make sure the cam is recording when it should be. could also help increase the WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor) :D
 

TNT

Member
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
87
Likes
58
Country
Slovakia
Dash Cam
SG9663DC
Ah, the WIFE
Woman Intended for Enjoyment
or
Wise Investment For Ever
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
43,779
Likes
22,881
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
maybe a good feature to add would be if someone has pressed REC and it's not recording for say... 15 seconds, and no buttons have been pressed, start recording again automatically. that would fix situations like my wife's above, and help make sure the cam is recording when it should be. could also help increase the WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor) :D
if you stop recording and forget about it the camera will restart and start recording, we've had that feature in our cameras for 3 years already
 

Gibson99

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
8,724
Likes
6,651
Location
Houston, we've had a problem, Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
(2x) A119, (2x) A118c, iTrue X3, Git1, Git2
AFAIK I haven't seen this very useful safety feature on other dashcams yet ;)
I haven't either as I have yet to own a Street Guardian product. One day...

That said I've had some cameras (blacksys, and some cheap thing with vga resolution) that you couldn't STOP the recording without pulling the power cord. Making configuration changes on the blacksys was a pain as it required putting the SD card into a computer and use their crappy app (but then again once they were set there was no reason to change them so it was really just a one time thing), and the cheap thing didn't really have any options to set. Now that WiFi is more common, maybe we can start eliminating dashcam buttons except for the manual event/lock button.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
37
Likes
5
Country
United Kingdom
G-sensor sensitivity - there are 3 settings HIGH/MED/LOW. If my car was parked and another car clipped it, which setting would be appropriate? I guess I am trying to map this setting to a real world scenario. E.g low sensitivity = large car crash, med =??, high = ??

I've noticed as well that the swivel camera on the front camera had moved last time I was in the car (moved down so captured more of the dashboard instead of window). Anything to check for here?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
43,779
Likes
22,881
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
car clipping it might not save the file on low, if you run it higher you may find it false triggers when driving, setting it for driving is probably batter though, parking files are timelapse and will be there anyway without having to save them

check that you had the lens above the point where it clicks and not between clicks
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
37
Likes
5
Country
United Kingdom
I think it was between clicks (y)

Just came across the A129, what's the difference of this vs the sg9663dc? They both look really similar physically and spec wise
 

wozzzzza

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2013
Messages
2,683
Likes
1,081
Country
Australia
when you close your doors it wont trigger an event so it has to be a hard knock to trigger an event
 

mcaf123

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
595
Likes
356
Location
Manchester
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
SG9663DC
My car is going in for a service next week and I want to be able to record the whole thing in normal mode, rather than timelapse. What do I need to do to enable this?

Also, if they turn ignition on and then back off again during the course of the service, is there any way to keep it in normal mode until I re-enable parking mode once I've collected the car?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
43,779
Likes
22,881
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
My car is going in for a service next week and I want to be able to record the whole thing in normal mode, rather than timelapse. What do I need to do to enable this?

Also, if they turn ignition on and then back off again during the course of the service, is there any way to keep it in normal mode until I re-enable parking mode once I've collected the car?
if you manually power it up it will go into normal recording mode, as soon as they start the car though it will go back to its usual method of operation
 

mcaf123

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
595
Likes
356
Location
Manchester
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
SG9663DC
if you manually power it up it will go into normal recording mode, as soon as they start the car though it will go back to its usual method of operation
I seem to remember a while ago there was talk of a valet mode (I think it was on a GuardTrak cam). Does the DC chipset support an added menu option where we can select valet mode that will stop it going back into its normal mode of operation as you described above until we choose to?
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
43,779
Likes
22,881
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
I seem to remember a while ago there was talk of a valet mode (I think it was on a GuardTrak cam). Does the DC chipset support an added menu option where we can select valet mode that will stop it going back into its normal mode of operation as you described above until we choose to?
not something we've looked at for this model, the answer right now is I'm not sure
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
10,989
Likes
7,353
Location
Carson City, Nevada (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
Excuse me if this has been touched up already. Is there a way to tell if the gps is on? Indicator light or symbol?
If you update to the latest firmware it now looks like this at the top. Added color as well red/green. Green signal is locked and logging.



 

BrianJ

New Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2015
Messages
27
Likes
7
Country
United States
Adding another SG to the fleet! Already have 2 SG9665GC and will be adding the SG9663DC to replace Lukas LK-7950. Order the hardwired kit as well.

Saying it’s hot during the summer here is an understatement (Arizona). How does the DC unit handle heat?
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
10,989
Likes
7,353
Location
Carson City, Nevada (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
Adding another SG to the fleet! Already have 2 SG9665GC and will be adding the SG9663DC to replace Lukas LK-7950. Order the hardwired kit as well.

Saying it’s hot during the summer here is an understatement (Arizona). How does the DC unit handle heat?
DC should be no problem in the heat. There have been several incremental improvements in this area over the years between the latest models and productions.
 
Top