Unplugging front and rear dash cams... from the driver's seat...

HeyThanks

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
Country
United States
So, I'm thinking of purchasing the A129 Pro Duo to protect myself and for all the reasons people love their dashcams (I currently have none).

The only complication for me is that I regularly visit an area where photography (to include dash cams) is not permitted and I would be fine to have cams as long as they are unplugged/powered off/etc. when entering the area.

I want to be able to do this while in the driver's seat so I don't have to pull over to turn off/move/unplug the cameras. This is easy enough for a front camera, as I just unplug it or unmount it. But I'm not sure how I'd accomplish this if I also wanted a rear camera...

Do you have any suggestions for me? Thank you for your time!
 
OP
H

HeyThanks

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
Country
United States
How would you unplug the cable of the rear cam if in the driver's seat? Are you saying to disconnect where it's hardwired into the fuse?
 
OP
H

HeyThanks

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
Country
United States
But to pull the cable out of the camera, I need to be able to reach the camera. Which I can't do if I'm sitting in the front seat. I mentioned I want to be able to do this while in the driver's seat so I don't have to pull over to turn off/move/unplug the cameras.
 
OP
H

HeyThanks

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
Country
United States
LOL no, I just want to be able to use the cameras while I'm on my way to the place, but be able to disconnect them before I pull in (but without actually having to pull over and get out of the car).
 

Harsh

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
3,504
Reaction score
3,511
Location
Delhi
Country
India
When the main (front) unit is disconnected, the rear camera also turns off.
 
OP
H

HeyThanks

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
Country
United States
Ooooooooooooh, really? That'd be wonderful. Thank you!
 

HonestReview

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
1,062
Reaction score
321
Country
United States
So, I'm thinking of purchasing the A129 Pro Duo to protect myself and for all the reasons people love their dashcams (I currently have none).

The only complication for me is that I regularly visit an area where photography (to include dash cams) is not permitted and I would be fine to have cams as long as they are unplugged/powered off/etc. when entering the area.

I want to be able to do this while in the driver's seat so I don't have to pull over to turn off/move/unplug the cameras. This is easy enough for a front camera, as I just unplug it or unmount it. But I'm not sure how I'd accomplish this if I also wanted a rear camera...

Do you have any suggestions for me? Thank you for your time!
Hold down the power button? or Pulling Power Plug.... Don't think there are any more options...
 
OP
H

HeyThanks

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
Country
United States
@Harsh This will be my first dash cam, I just started learning about them today. Thank you again for your help.
 

HonestReview

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
1,062
Reaction score
321
Country
United States
Clearly he needs to do some more research
Seems easier solution is he just gets a Dash Camera with an OBDII hardwire kit. And if he can't reach to hold power button, he could simply unplug the OBDII plug.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
49,135
Reaction score
27,377
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Seems easier solution is he just gets a Dash Camera with an OBDII hardwire kit. And if he can't reach to hold power button, he could simply unplug the OBDII plug.
that would likely be problematic in a lot of vehicles, you'd end up with a cable dangling near your feet, not ideal
 
OP
H

HeyThanks

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
US
Country
United States
I'll probably go with A129 Pro Duo, hardwire the front camera normally, and then because the rear camera only connects to the front camera, all I have to do is disconnect the front camera's power cable and I'm set. Thank you all for your help!
 

Nigel

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
11,009
Reaction score
5,677
Location
Devon
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Gitup F1, A129, B1W, B2W
You can turn both front and rear off by pressing the power/menu button on the front camera for 3 seconds.
If they really need to have the power removed then you can pull the power adaptor out of the accessory socket, or if it is hardwired then put a toggle switch in the power cable to the hardwire kit, then you can just flick the switch to turn both off. Just need to remember to turn it back on again every time you get back out of the secure area.

1580888358520.png
 

kamkar1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
24,485
Reaction score
13,656
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
Yeah the rear camera are powered from the front camera, so if the front camera are off so will the rear one be.
Reaching cameras on windscreen are no issue for me as i drive a little EU / JAP car, and i am +6 foot tall
 
Top